We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama High School Football Head Coaches

Art Sullivan

Art Sullivan was born in Montgomery, Alabama on November 25, 1945. He attended Hayneville High School and graduated in 1964. Sullivan was a star on the football field playing for the Blue Devils where he earned honorable mention all-state honors during his junior and senior seasons as a fullback. Sullivan also played basketball, baseball and ran track during his high days. His high school coach was Mac Champion.

Sullivan earned a scholarship to play football at Alabama for Paul "Bear" Bryant following high school. He transferred to Livingston and played football for two seasons. Sullivan graduated from Livingston in 1969.

He is best known for his coaching with the AISA schools over his career. He started at Clarke County High in 1969, moved to Grove Hill Academy as an assistant coach the following year, then took over the reins as head football coach in 1971.

He moved over to Morgan Academy in 1973 for three seasons, Warrior Academy for two years in 1976-77, and Fort Deposit Academy from 1979-1981. In 1983 Sullivan spent one season at Hooper Academy as the head football coach.

Sullivan started his relationship with the AISA in 1970, the same year many of the schools in the private school association opened and has remained there ever since, spending 22 of the last 23 years at Lowndes Academy.

He became the head football coach at Lowndes Academy in 2002 where he remained for the next ten seasons.

Coach Sullivan said his greatest influences were his parents and his high school coaches, along with Bear Bryant at Alabama.

Coach Sullivan was named Coach of the Year several times during his career and was inducted into the Alabama Independent School Associations Hall of Fame in 2007.

Known Record:  131-122-8   51.8%

Back to Coaches List

 Season Total   Playoffs   Region/Area Record 
 Team   Season   Class   W/L/T   PF  PA   W/L/T   PF  PA   Region   Title  W/L/T   PF  PA 
Lowndes Academy
Lowndes Academy2011 AISA-A4-82614190-1941R14-2175145
Lowndes Academy2010 AISA-A8-43792170-11537R15-124873
Lowndes Academy2009 AISA-AA7-43191580-1042R13-214768
Lowndes Academy2008 AISA-AA10-44531852-17748R15-121553
Lowndes Academy2007 AISA-A6-52902260-1749R24-2179104
Lowndes Academy2006 AISA-A11-24531802-17961R26-026468
Lowndes Academy2005 AISA-A8-33852191-16759East7-1311147
Lowndes Academy2004 AISA-A9-33441051-14834East#8-129058
Lowndes Academy2003 AISA-AA3-6227288R22-5170262
Lowndes Academy2002 AISA-AA1-875264R20-642210
 10 Years67-47318622616-830237144-2120411188
Fort Dale Academy
Fort Dale Academy1994 AISA-AA4-72032700-1835West3-3124112
 1 Year4-72032700-18353-3124112
Lowndes Academy
Lowndes Academy1987 AISA-AA3-7104196
 1 Year3-71041960-0000-000
Hooper Academy
Hooper Academy1983 AISA-AAA4-6-180221
Hooper Academy1982 AISA-AAA4-5-189148
 2 Years8-11-21693690-0000-000
Fort Deposit Academy
Fort Deposit Academy1981 AISA-A4-6-1111175
Fort Deposit Academy1980 AISA-A6-3197129
Fort Deposit Academy1979 AISA-A4-6-1150217
 3 Years14-15-24585210-0000-000
Warrior Academy
Warrior Academy1977 AISA-AA4-7116226
Warrior Academy1976 AISA-AA3-6-1114193
 2 Years7-13-12304190-0000-000
Morgan Academy
Morgan Academy1975 AISA-A4-5-2130166
Morgan Academy1974 AISA-A8-33121220-1854
Morgan Academy1973 AISA7-4272151
 3 Years19-12-27144390-18540-000
Clarke Prep
Grove Hill Academy1972 AISA6-5164199
Grove Hill Academy1971 AISA5-4-1162197
Grove Hill Academy1970 AISA3-7158279
 3 Years14-16-14846750-0000-000
 25 Years136-128-8554851506-1031846047-2421651300

Records reflect scores in our database. Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Morgan Academy Senators have appeared in 14 state championship games from 1984-2008, winning the title 11 times.