We now have 832 teams &  
189,846 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Amazing Seasons 

     Share on Facebook         

          Since Alabama high school football first held a post season playoff system in 1966 there have teams that accomplished the feat of completing a season with not only a championship but a perfect season. This series of unforgettable seasons will document these seasons game-by-game.

          Below are the teams that have been researched along with a brief summary of each game along with rosters and other pertinent information. It is our way of honoring the teams that managed to finish a season by winning a title and not losing a single game along the way.

          Since 1984 when the newest playoff format began, a total of fifty-five teams have completed a year with a perfect 15-0 record. Since 1966 a total of 112 teams have finished a season undefeated and claimed a state title.
          The ultimate goal will be to complete summaries for every team that won a state championship since 1966. That will include 250 teams through the 2013 season. It will take a lot more research and some time to complete. In the meantime we will add the teams listed below. Other seasons will be added as they are researched.

          If anyone can provide more information about these or other teams it will be appreciated. Our goal is to find a roster, team photo and box scores for every team that won a state championship. Fell free to email me at the address below if you can assist with this project.

The Unforgettable Seasons
Year Team Summary
1920 Sidney Lanier Poets The first state championship.
1966 Sidney Lanier Poets The first playoff champions.
1967 Russellville Golden Tigers The first Class 3A champs.
1967 Sidney Lanier Poets Two in a row.
1968 Russellville Golden Tigers A repeat for the Golden Tigers.
1968 Lowndes Academy Rebels The team that Mac built.
1968 Gordo Green Wave A first for the Green Wave.
1968 Sidney Lanier Poets Three in a row.
1970 Hazlewood Golden Bears The beginning of a dynasty.
1971 Oneonta Redskins A tie for the championship.
1972 Colbert County Indians A star studded team.
1972 Oneonta Redskins Thirteen consecutive wins.
1973 Banks Jets A perfect season for the Jets.
1973 John Carroll Cavaliers A perfect season for the Cavs.
1973 Glencoe Yellow Jackets A special season for the Yellow Jackets.
1977 Andalusia Bulldogs Long winning streak continues.
1980 Akron Rams A sophomore quarterback sensation.
1980 Gordo Green Wave A perfect season for Gordo.
1982 Hazlewood Golden Bears Another championship for the Bears.
1983 Murphy Panthers A first for a Mobile team.
1983 Millport Junior Tide Seven close wins for a title.
1984 Emma Sansom Rebels Rose and Jelks.
1984 Millport Junior Tide Back to back perfect seasons.
1985 Sand Rock Wildcats From 0-10 to 15-0 in two years.
1986 Crossville Lions An amazing season for the Lions.
1987 UMS Prep Bulldogs A great defense.
1988 Vigor Wolves A National Championship
1990 Deshler Tigers A high scoring offense.
1990 Courtland Chiefs A difficult schedule.
1991 Gadsden Tigers An undefeated Tiger team. 
1994 T.R. Miller Tigers Another championship for the Tigers.
1996 Blount Leopards The team of the 1990s win a title.
1996 Fayette County Tigers A father and son title.
1998 Blount Leopards A new coach, same results.
1999 Etowah Blue Devils Mr. Football Carnell Williams.
2000 Aliceville Yellow Jackets The Kendal Gibson show.
2002 Clay County Panthers Another great Panther defense.
2004 Demopolis Tigers The highest scoring team.
2004 Hoover Bucs Maybe the best Bucs team.
2004 Oneonta Redskins A comeback championship.
2005 Homewood Patriots Back-to-back championships.
2007 Cordova Blue Devils The Tim Simon show.
2007 Sweet Water Bulldogs Another championship for Sweet Water.
2008 Leeds Green Wave A first championship for Leeds
2008 Leroy Bears  
2008 Vigor Wolves  
2009 Cherokee County Warriors  
2010 Daphne Trojans  
2010 Leeds Green Wave  
2010 Thomasville Tigers  
2011 Elba Tigers  
2011 Handley Tigers  
2011 Hartselle Tigers  
2011 Jackson Aggies A perfect season for the Aggies.
2012 Brantley Bulldogs A great defense.
2012 Hoover Bucs Another championship for the Bucs.
2012 Tanner Rattlers A first for the Rattlers.
2013 Hoover Bucs Back to back 15-0 seasons.
2013 Madison Academy Mustangs  
2013 Pickens County Tornados  
2013 Spanish Fort Toros  

The Unforgettable Seasons - (Coming Soon)
Year Team Summary
1966 Marengo County  
1969 Excel  
1969 Lee Montgomery  
1969 T.R. Miller  
1970 Addison  
1970 Lee Montgomery  
1971 Abbeville  
1971 Marion County  
1971 Tarrant  
1972 Banks  
1973 Marion County  
1975 Mountain Brook  
1976 Addison  
1976 Andalusia  
1976 Mountain Brook  
1978 Eufaula  
1978 Jeff Davis  
1978 Sweet Water  
1979 Colbert County  
1979 Jackson  
1979 Stevenson  
1979 Sweet Water  
1980 Charles Henderson  
1982 Enterprise  
1982 Thompson  
1986 Cottonwood  
1986 Lee Montgomery  
1987 Montgomery Academy  
1987 Reeltown  
1988 Oxford  
1989 Anniston  
1991 McKenzie  
1991 T.R. Miller  
1992 Billingsley  
1992 Daleville  
1993 Brantley  
1993 Oxford  
1993 St. Clair County  
1995 Alexandria  
1995 Clay County  
1996 Clay County  
1996 Maplesville  
1998 Briarwood Christian  
1998 Southern Choctaw  
1998 Vestavia Hills  
2001 Daphne  
2001 UMS-Wright  
2002 Southern Choctaw  
2003 Trinity  
2005 Pike County  
2005 UMS-Wright  
2006 Prattville  
2007 Central Tuscaloosa  
2007 Prattville  


David Parker

comments powered by Disqus

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1925 Langdale tied a record by defeating Milltown 125-0. Hamilton had set the record by thrashing Fayette 125-0 in 1915.