We now have 832 teams &  
189,846 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Gatorade Player of the Year for Alabama

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in each of the 50 states that sanction high school football and awards one National Player of the Year. The selection process is administered by RISE Magazine, which works with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners. The award began in 1985.

Select year below to view the complete team for every state.

Select Year:      

 Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   Class   College 
 Brad Johnson  Cherokee County OL6-4 261Sr.4A  Auburn
 Phillip Doyle  Huffman K6-3 190Sr.6A  Alabama
 Ed King  Central Phenix City OL6-4 270Sr.6A  Auburn
 Darrell Williams  Vigor RB5-10 185Sr.6A  Auburn
 Steve Christopher  Anniston QB6-1 195Sr.6A  
 Dameian Jefferies  B.B. Comer DL6-5 245Sr.4A  Alabama
 Jeremy Pennington  Lamar County OL6-4 275Sr.3A  Alabama
 Chris Jordan  Jackson OL6-6 285Sr.5A  Alabama
 Fred Beasley  Lee Montgomery RB6-1 200Jr.6A  Auburn
 Dawud Rasheed  Shades Valley RB5-10 210Sr.6A  Duke
 Colin Sears  Russellville OL6-4 280Sr.5A  Auburn
 Antoneyo Williams  Central Tuscaloosa RB5-11 218Sr.6A  Alabama
 Tyler Watts  Pelham QB6-4 205Sr.6A  Alabama
 Saleem Rasheed  Shades Valley LB6-2 225Sr.6A  Alabama
 Bill Flowers Jr.  Pelham WR6-1 178Sr.6A  Ole Miss
 Carnell Williams  Etowah RB6-0 195Jr.5A  Auburn
 Jason Allen  Muscle Shoals RB6-2 198Sr.5A  Tennessee
 JaMarcus Russell  Williamson QB6-6 220Sr.5A  LSU
 John Parker Wilson  Hoover QB6-1 180Sr.6A  Alabama
 Tommy Trott  Trinity WR6-5 240Sr.4A  Auburn
 Chris Smelley  American Christian QB6-3 213Sr.1A  South Carolina
 Phelon Jones  McGill-Toolen DB6-0 190Sr.6A  LSU
 Julio Jones  Foley WR6-4 210Jr.6A  Alabama
 Clint Moseley  Leroy QB6-3 192Sr.2A  Auburn
 Coty Blanchard  Cherokee County QB6-0 180Sr.4A  Jacksonville State
 Jamal Golden  Wetumpka QB6-0 180Sr.6A  Georgia Tech
 Jameis Winston  Hueytown QB6-4 200Sr.5A  Florida State
 Nick Mullens  Spain Park QB6-1 180Sr.6A  
 Racean Thomas  Oxford RB6-0 200Sr.5A  Auburn
 Kerryon Johnson  Madison Academy RB Sr.3A  Auburn

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Homewood defeated Benjamin Russell in five overtimes during the Class 5A Super Six state championship game in 2000.