We now have 833 teams &  
183,794 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

T.R. Miller Tigers

 Phil Lazenby 

Phil Lazenby graduated from Bessemer High School and Samford University.

He was the secondary coach at Jess Lanier for five seasons (1976-80) before joining the Mountain Brook staff. Lazenby served as an assistant and defensive coordinator at Mountain Brook from 1981-90.

In 1992 he accepted the head coaching job at Guntersville when Coach Bucky Pitts moved on. In five season his teams finished a combined 38-18, winning three region titles and making three playoff appearances. His last two teams went 10-2.

Lazenby replaced outgoing Southside coach Roger Hibbs in 1996, who left to become the head coach at Pell City. His only team at Southside finished 6-6 and made the playoffs for the first time in six years.

1997 saw him moving over to Benjamin Russell for the next four years. His 1997 and 2000 teams reached the Super Six championship games before losing a chance at a state title. His last three teams won region titles.

Coach Lazenby retired from the public school system following the 2000 seasons. He served as the assistant head coach, offensive line coach and strength and conditioning coach at UMS-Wright from 2001-2006. He played a big role in the Bulldogs state titles in 2001, 2002 and 2005.

Lazenby moved across the bay to Baldwin County and Bayside Academy in 2007. In twelve years his Admirals have gone 87-55, qualifying for the playoffs nine times. The 2015 team reached the state championship game in Tuscaloosa before falling to Maplesville.

His overall coaching record going into the 2019 season is 172-91.

Coach Lazenby was named Coach of the Year by the Alabama Sports Writers Association in 1997 and 2011.

Known Record:  192-102-0   65.3%
 Season Total   Playoffs   Region Record 
 Team   Season  Class   W/L/T   PF  PA   W/L/T  PF  PA   Region  Title  W/L/T   PF  PA 
Bayside Academy
Bayside Academy2021 3A7-2262114R14-216490
Bayside Academy2020 3A8-33132070-12152R14-2156131
Bayside Academy2019 3A5-62533220-12142R14-2129156
Bayside Academy2018 3A6-4232176R13-314897
Bayside Academy2017 3A5-61842430-11326R14-3133151
Bayside Academy2016 3A8-53122872-16676R15-2204151
Bayside Academy2015 3A11-44322934-1151109R15-118584
Bayside Academy2014 3A4-6256247R12-4158133
Bayside Academy2013 3A8-54673362-19684R15-2271163
Bayside Academy2012 3A7-54232291-17132R15-2265145
Bayside Academy2011 3A11-14542191-17556R1#7-0263102
Bayside Academy2010 3A9-44462962-18585R15-2232129
Bayside Academy2009 3A7-53091641-12728R15-2248105
Bayside Academy2008 3A6-53172340-11721R14-3225157
Bayside Academy2007 2A5-5210185R13-4148145
 15 Years107-664870355213-1164361165-3429291939
Benjamin Russell
Benjamin Russell2000 5A13-23611394-114069R3#6-017326
Benjamin Russell1999 6A9-32371531-12951R10#2-0527
Benjamin Russell1998 6A7-41701161-11714R10#2-06228
Benjamin Russell1997 6A12-33972054-1111112R72-15438
 4 Years41-12116561310-429724612-134199
Southside Gadsden
Southside Gadsden1996 5A6-62332941-13627R131-14962
 1 Year6-62332941-136271-14962
Guntersville1995 4A10-23681811-16051R12#3-01047
Guntersville1994 4A10-23461801-15147R12#3-011435
Guntersville1993 5A8-42401911-13833R13#2-0477
Guntersville1992 5A6-4225177R130-23850
Guntersville1991 5A4-6169193R132-26765
 5 Years38-1813489223-314913110-4370164
 25 Years192-1027616538127-191125101588-4036892264

 The Fan Shop
Custom Sportswear, Merchandise & Apparel including T-Shirts, Sweatshirts, Jerseys & more
Records reflect scores in our database. Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.

Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1970 Monroe Academy won the first championship in the A.I.S.A. by defeating Lowndes Academy 6-0.