We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1951 Demopolis Tigers

 1951    Demopolis Tigers
 Record: 9-0-0
 Head Coach: E.D. Chink Lott
 The 1951 Demopolis Tigers were chosen Class A State Champions by the Birmingham News from District 2.


The 1951 Demopolis Tigers outscored their opposition 330-20 in completing a perfect 9-0 season. The Tiger offense was very consistent in never scoring under 32 points while the defense never allowed more than seven points in any contest.

Doug Lott, son of head coach L.D. Chick Lott, was one of the outstanding tackles in the Blackbelt Conference in 1951. He was also an excellent extra point blocker over his career.

The Tigers were led on offense by Bo Spears who was considered one of the fastest backs in the state. Against Holt he gained 188 yards on only six carries.

Team captain and quarterback, Ralph Lewis, was injured in an automobile accident and missed the last three games of the season with his injuries. Tommy Logan stepped in well the remaining three games.

1951  Season
 Site   PF   Opponent   PA   W/L/T 
 39   Parrish Selma W
 34   Marengo County W
 32   Greensboro W
 32   Linden W
 33   Eutaw W
 40   Holt W
 34   Livingston W
 47   Thomasville W
 39   Sumter County W
330 9-0-0 20

1951 Demopolis All-State Players
 Bo SpearsB Sr.145 1  BN
 Bill LoganE 1  MA
 Bo SpearsB 1  MA
 UlmerT HM  MA
 LottT HM  MA

1951 Demopolis All-Star Players
 AHSAA-University of Alabama All-Star Game   
 Bo Spear RHB Sr. 145  

1951 Demopolis Roster
Jim Bouler LE
Style Ulmer LT
Harry Coker LG
Ed Willingham C
Clay Long RG
Doug Lott RT
William Logan RE
Ralph Lewis QB
Eddie Jackson LH
Bo Spear RH
Charlie Parten FB
Subs: Copeland, Feathers, Ronnie Willingham, Spencer, Vaughn, Kane, Caldwell, Jones, Malone, Flowers

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Morris Higginbotham coached three different teams to divisional state championships in the 1950s. He won titles at Walnut Grove in 1952, West Blocton in 1955 and Enterprise in 1960.