We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2023 Football Coaching Changes

     Share on Facebook         

New Hires: Thirteen
Best Hire: Larry Boykin, Southern Choctaw
Hardest to Replace: Houston Powell, Meek
Best Job: Spring Garden
Toughest Job: A.L. Johnson
Most Interesting: Houston Powell moves over to Marbury after completely turning around the football fortunes at Meek the past couple of seasons. The Tigers should be in good hands as they promoted their record setting offensive coordinator for the 2023 season.

          Larry Boykin returning to Southern Choctaw has to have the town buzzing with anticipation. The programs greatest success came under Coach Boykin in the 1990s as the Indians captured three state championships.
 2023 Coaching Changes 

     Class 1A saw thirteen head coaching changes after the close of the 2022 football season. Many of those changes came late and over the summer so teams will have little time to adapt to a new coach and system. Only six of the new hires have any head football coaching experience.

      Only two programs making changes at the top had a winning record last season.

 Team  2022 Season  2023 Season

A.L. Johnson (0-10)Eugene FosterMigeual Catlin
Brilliant (0-10)Roger SatcherTanner Harris
Cedar Bluff (4-7)Alan BeckettGarrett Crane
Choctaw County (4-6)Kendrick OfficeLeon Walker
J.F. Shields (0-10)Amari DuboseJerome Antone
McKenzie (1-8)Ezell PowellBrian Bradford
Meek (11-1)Houston PowellDaniel Evans
R.C. Hatch (4-7)Cyontai LewisEugene Foster
Shoals Christian (2-7)Nicholas SimmonsBrett Vick
Southern Choctaw (3-7)Jeremy NolandLarry Boykin
Spring Garden (10-2)Jason HowardBarrett Ragsdale
Sumiton Christian (5-5)David PowellJeremy Moon
Victory Christian (4-6)Bruce BrelandTerry Etheredge
Woodville (2-8)Matt SandersJoel Poole

 Most Victories 
   David Powell leads all 1A coaches with 239 victories at McAdory and Sumiton Christian. There are a lot of very good young head coaches at this level. The future is bright for these football programs no doubt.

David Powell Sumiton Christian 239 99
Larry Boykin Southern Choctaw 161 83
Mark Hastings Lynn 139 121
Roland Jones Jr. Brantley 136 41
Rod Hudson Hackleburg 109 54
Jason Massey Leroy 93 52
David Smothers Addison 90 38
Brad Abbott Maplesville 82 45
Pat Thompson Sweet Water 82 27

 Most Playoff Victories 
   Coach Boykin at Southern Choctaw leads the 1A coaches with 26 playoff wins. Most of those wins came in his last stint at the school between 1994-2006.

Larry Boykin Southern Choctaw 26 14
David Powell Sumiton Christian 24 26
Pat Thompson Sweet Water 20 7
Jason Massey Leroy 19 8
Michael Williams Pickens County 17 5
Roland Jones Jr. Brantley 16 13
Mark Hastings Lynn 10 14
Rod Hudson Hackleburg 10 13
David Smothers Addison 10 10
Brad Abbott Maplesville 7 11
   * only in-state wins counted

 Longest Tenure at Current School 
   Jason Howard stepped down in July after quietly building a great program at Spring Garden in his seventeen seasons as the head football coach. Rod Hudson at Hackleburg takes his place as the longest tenured coach in Class 1A. The average tenure for all 1A coaches is 4.2 years.

14 - Rod Hudson, Hackleburg
12 - David Smothers, Addison
11 - Jason Massey, Leroy
10 - Pat Thompson, Sweet Water
9 - Anthony Jones, Notasulga
8 - Kyle Williams, Marion County
8 - Clay Gilliam, South Lamar
7 - Ervin Starr, Calhoun
7 - Kenny Skipper, Red Level
7 - Charles Hammon, Valley Head
6 - Javaris Jackson, Autaugaville
6 - Roland Jones Jr., Brantley
6 - Anthony Lumpkin, Keith
6 - Michael Williams, Pickens County

 Coaching Turnover 2000-2023 
   The lack of success in most football programs often leads to a change in the head coach. These schools have had the most head coaching changes over the past 24 years. No schools have had more changes than J.F. Shields in any classification. Pickens County has been a consistent winner the past couple of decades but for some reason the Tornados have made nine coaching changes yet only gone through two losing seasons.

17 J.F. Shields  
14 Coosa Christian  
13 Florala  
12 Central Hayneville  
11 McKenzie  
11 Victory Christian  
10 Georgiana  
10 McIntosh  
10 Choctaw County  
9 Calhoun  
9 Cherokee  
9 Fruitdale  
9 Pickens County  
9 Pleasant Home  
9 Sumiton Christian  

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1970 Monroe Academy won the first championship in the A.I.S.A. by defeating Lowndes Academy 6-0.