We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2022 Football Coaching Changes

     Share on Facebook         

New Hires: Nineteen
Best Hire: Ryan Lolley, Northridge
Hardest to Replace: Patrick Browning, Pike Road
Best Job: St. Paul's
Toughest Job: Columbia
Most Interesting: Steve Mask decided to move north to Pell City after winning four state championships at St. Paul's over the past ten seasons. Pell City has won just a single playoff game since 2005 so this will be interesting to watch over the next few seasons. At one point during the off season, after Coach Mask had accepted the job at Pell City, rumors swirled on twitter for a couple days that he was on the move again to Eufaula. Mask refuted the rumors and stated he was never offered the job.
 2022 Coaching Changes 

   One third of all the head coaching positions in 6A changed hands during the off season. Eight of the new coaching hires in 6A were head coaches at a different school last season. Ten were assistant coaches. Coach Bear Woods arrives in Wetumpka after playing football in the CFL last season.

   With Mike Vickery taking the Pelham head coaching job, Ryan Lolley arrives in Northridge after nine seasons at Gordo where he built the Green Wave into a consistent winner. His teams averaged winning eleven games a season. Northridge has only won ten games in any season once.

 Team  2021 Season  2022 Season

Benjamin Russell (3-7)Aubrey BlackwellSmitty Grider
Blount (3-7)Dedrick SumpterJosh Harris
Blount (3-7)Dedrick SumpterJosh Harris
Central Tuscaloosa (13-1)Patrick NixRodney Bivens Jr
Chilton County (3-7)Tal MorrisonMarvin Morton
Columbia (0-10)Nicholas WellsJosh LouAllen
Cullman (7-4)Oscar GlasscockOscar Glasscock
Decatur (4-7)Jere AdcockJere Adcock
Hazel Green (3-7)Joel SchrenkCharlie Wilburn
Huffman (13-2)Greg Patterson.Marlon Bush
Huffman (2-8)William F. SmithMarlon Bush
Jackson-Olin (9-3)Tim VakakesJamaal Bess
Mae Jemison (2-8)Harold WellsHarold Wells
McGill-Toolen (7-4)Aryvia HolmesNorman Joseph
Mortimer Jordan (2-8)Stuart FloydDustan Goode
Murphy (3-7)Michael EasleyJohn McKenzie
Murphy (2-8)Rico JacksonJohn McKenzie
Northridge (7-4)Mike VickeryRyan Lolley
Park Crossing (2-8)L.C. ColeTy Lockett
Paul Bryant (3-6)Eldrick HillEldrick Hill
Pelham (7-4)Tom CauseyMike Vickery
Pell City (2-8)Wayne LeeSteve Mask
Pell City (2-8)Wayne LeeSteve Mask
Pike Road (14-0)Patrick BrowningEd Rigby
Pike Road (14-0)Patrick BrowningEd Rigby
Pinson Valley (9-4)Sam ShadeLee Guess
Pinson Valley (9-4)Sam ShadeLee Guess
Sidney Lanier (2-8)Marvin CunninghamDerone Fagan
Spanish Fort (10-2)Ben BlackmonChase Smith
Spanish Fort (10-2)Ben BlackmonChase Smith
Sparkman (4-7)Laron WhiteChase Smith
St. Pauls (8-4)Steve MaskHam Barnett
Stanhope Elmore (5-5)Brian BradfordBrian Bradford
Theodore (10-2)Eric CollierEric Collier
Thomasville (5-6)Greg CragerEric Collier
Wetumpka (5-6)Tim PerryBear Woods
Wetumpka (5-6)Tim PerryBear Woods
White Plains (3-7)Chandler TyreeBear Woods
Woodlawn (1-9)Gentrell EatmanGentrell Eatman

 Most Victories 
    Steve Mask arrives in Pell City with 210 coaching victories in Alabama. He also picked up four state championship trophies in his last stop at St. Paul's in Mobile. That gives him as many as all the other coaches on our list combined. The only other coaches with a blue map are Scott Rials 2011 at Elba, Scott Basden 2007 at Cordova, Reuben Nelson 2016 at Ramsay and Ed Rigby 2015 at Elba.

Smitty Grider at Benjamin Russell, Ryan Lolley at Northridge and Ed Rigby at Pike Road are on our list and all will have new jobs this season.

Steve Mask Pell City 210 98
Scott Basden Muscle Shoals 196 72
Scott Rials Baldwin County 182 94
Jere Adcock Decatur 178 117
Chris Yeager Mountain Brook 158 78
Jeff Kelly Saraland 151 68
Harold Wells Mae Jemison 135 150
Smitty Grider Benjamin Russell 125 65
Reuben Nelson Shades Valley 117 71
Ryan Lolley Northridge 99 18
Ed Rigby Pike Road 81 30

 Longest Tenure at Current School 
   Jere Adcock is tied with three other coaches for the longest tenure at the same school in Alabama with twenty seven years at Decatur. Coach Adcock's teams at Decatur have gone a combined 178-117 over the past 26 seasons. They are 15-20 in the playoffs and have won seven region championships.

   The 57 schools in 6A average 4.2 years each with their current head football coach. Only five coaches have been at their current school for more than ten seasons.

27 - Jere Adcock, Decatur
17 - Chris Yeager, Mountain Brook
15 - Scott Basden, Muscle Shoals
12 - Jeff Kelly, Saraland
10 - Eric Collier, Theodore
9 - Ben Berguson, Homewood
9 - Dustan Goode, Mortimer Jordan
9 - Eldrick Hill, Paul Bryant
7 - Cody Gross, Athens
6 - Drew Gilmer, Clay-Chalkville
6 - Brian Bradford, Stanhope Elmore
5 - George Bates, Center Point
5 - Chris Elmore, Fort Payne
5 - Chad Eads, Gardendale
5 - Richie Busby, Helena
5 - Adrian Abrams, Minor

 Coaching Turnover 2000-2022 
   The lack of success in most football programs often leads to a change in the head coach. These schools have had the most head coaching changes over the past 23 years. The biggest surprise on this list has to be McGill-Toolen with nine different coaches during this time. The Yellow Jackets quailfied for the playoffs in every season except one and actually won a championship in 2015.

12 Woodlawn  
11 Russell County  
10 Bessemer City  
10 Columbia  
9 McGill-Toolen  
8 Calera  
8 Hazel Green  
8 Jackson-Olin  
8 Sidney Lanier  

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Collinsville completed the 1931 season with a record of 1-4-5. The five ties will forever be a state record since all games are now decided by overtime.