We now have 834 teams &  
188,070 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2022 Football Coaching Changes

     Share on Facebook         

New Hires: Fourteen
Best Hire: Nikita Stover, Decatur Heritage
Hardest to Replace: Eberne Myrthil, Marengo
Best Job: Decatur Heritage
Toughest Job: Pleasant Home
Most Interesting: Nikita Stover is a name most Alabama fans are familiar with and we will all have the opportunity to see what this young head coach can do on the football field over the coming years. This will be his first head football coaching job but he does have experience working with students and atheltes. He most recently coached the football and girls' middle school teams at Decatur Heritage. Coach Meek built the football program at Decatur Heritge Christian and Stover hopes to continue that success in to the future.
 2022 Coaching Changes 

   Class 1A saw a lot of changes well after the close of the 2021 football season ended. Only one of the new hires was a head football coach in 2021. Coach Cantrell at Florala was the head football coach at Elmore County last season. Coach Coach Lewis at R.C. Hatch is a former player at the University of Florida making his debut as a head coach.

 Team  2021 Season  2022 Season

Billingsley (4-7)Phillip CogginsLanny Jones
Brilliant (2-8)Brian GunnelsRoger Satcher
Central Hayneville (5-4)Michael Perry Jr.Corvin Johnson
Decatur Heritage Christian (10-3)Steve MeekNikita Stover
Donoho (2-7)Mark SandersJeremy Satcher
Florala (3-7)Chris LittletonJordan Cantrell
Fruitdale (4-7)Johnny CarpenterJohn Hobbs
Houston County (5-5)Chip HarrisJake Allen
J.F. Shields (2-8)Eduardo ThomasAmari Dubose
Marengo (5-5)Eberne MyrthilKatrell Watters
McKenzie (6-4)Drew LukerEzell Powell
Pleasant Home (1-9)Jeremy SilcoxCody Sellers
R.C. Hatch (3-6)Jammie AbrahamCyontai Lewis
Talladega County Central (0-9)Chris MahandAcardia Garett
Vina (0-10)Ben GuinLuke Childers
Waterloo (3-7)Michael Williams.Jeremiah Stricklin

 Most Victories 
   David Powell leads all 1A coaches with 234 victories at McAdory and Sumiton Christian.

David Powell Sumiton Christian 234 94
Mark Hastings Lynn 128 119
Roland Jones Jr. Brantley 126 38
Jason Howard Spring Garden 124 91
Rod Hudson Hackleburg 103 49
Bruce Breland Victory Christian 101 127
David Smothers Addison 81 35
Jason Massey Leroy 80 51
Brad Abbott Maplesville 74 41
Pat Thompson Sweet Water 74 24

 Longest Tenure at Current School 
   Jason Howard has quietly built a great program at Spring Garden in his eighteen seasons as the head fotoball coach. He did move over to Ohatchee for a couple of seasons in 2010-2011 but returned to Spring Garden the next year. The average tenure for all 1A coaches is 4.0 years.

18 - Jason Howard, Spring Garden
14 - Rod Hudson, Hackleburg
14 - Jeremy Noland, Southern Choctaw
11 - David Smothers, Addison
10 - Jason Massey, Leroy
9 - Pat Thompson, Sweet Water
8 - Anthony Jones, Notasulga
7 - Kyle Williams, Marion County
7 - Clay Gilliam, South Lamar
6 - Brian Gunnels, Brilliant
6 - Ervin Starr, Calhoun
6 - Kenny Skipper, Red Level
6 - Charles Hammon, Valley Head
5 - Javaris Jackson, Autaugaville
5 - Roland Jones Jr., Brantley
5 - Michael Perry Jr., Central Hayneville
5 - Anthony Lumpkin, Keith
5 - Michael Williams, Pickens County

 Coaching Turnover 2000-2022 
   The lack of success in most football programs often leads to a change in the head coach. These schools have had the most head coaching changes over the past 23 years. No schools have had more changes than J.F. Sheilds and Coosa Christian in any classification. Pickens County has been a consistent winner the past couple of decades but for some reason the Tornados have made nine coaching changes yet only gone through two losing seasons.

14 J.F. Shields  
14 Coosa Christian  
13 Florala  
12 Central Hayneville  
10 Georgiana  
10 McIntosh  
10 McKenzie  
10 Victory Christian  
9 Calhoun  
9 Cherokee  
9 Choctaw County  
9 Fruitdale  
9 Pickens County  
9 Pleasant Home  
9 Sumiton Christian  

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hamilton shutout an amazing 14 consecutive opponents from 1928-1930. A streak that will never be matched in modern football.