We now have 833 teams &  
185,441 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Mythical State Champions Update  

     Share on Facebook         

         Once again, Bill Plott has shared more information and research with us at and the fans of high school football across the state. We recently received his research on the mythical state champions prior the the beginning of the playoffs in 1966.

        While we had much of this on the website, there were some gaps and a few teams that were simply not correct. Now we have polls and additional information from newspaper articles and other sources to back up these mythical champions. Many of the polls from this era were added to the website and a few amore will come later.
         I will be adding more details about all the mythical champions from the newspaper clippings included with the new research especially for the new teams. All the mythical champions along with season summaries for many of the teams can be found in the Mythical Champions section of

         The Birmingham News selected state champions between 1951 and 1965 by choosing four champions in each classification according to districts. While we had most of them, the remaining champions have now been included. The additions are:

        1966 Birmingham News  - 3A, Walter Wellborn, 2A Sardis, 1A Ranburne

        1965 UPI  - Banks

        1965 Montgomery Advertiser - 4A - Banks, 3A Shelby County, 2A Dadeville, 1A Hayneville

        1964 Birmingham News
                  Class 1A District 1 - Repton
                  Class 1A District 2 - Hayneville
                  Class 1A District 3 - Walnut Grove
                  Class 1A District 4 - Hazlewood
                  Class 2A District 1 - Washington County
                  Class 2A District 2 - Linden
                  Class 2A District 3 - Curry
                  Class 2A District 4 - Stevenson
                  Class 3A District 1 - Satsuma
                  Class 3A District 2 - Shelby County
                  Class 3A District 3 - Haleyville
                  Class 3A District 4 - Fort Payne

        1964 Montgomery Advertiser - 4A Sidney Lanier, 3A Fort Payne, 2A Linden, 1A Hayneville

        1964 UPI - Sidney Lanier

        1963 Birmingham News
                  Class 1A District 1 - Frisco City
                  Class 1A District 2 - Hayneville
                  Class 1A District 3 - Woodland
                  Class 1A District 4 - Millport & Addison, tie
                  Class 2A District 1 - Geneva County
                  Class 2A District 2 - Linden
                  Class 2A District 3 - Cordova
                  Class 2A District 4 - Haleyville

        1962 Birmingham News
                  Class 1A District 1 - Rehobeth
                  Class 1A District 2 - Notasulga
                  Class 1A District 3 - Shelby County
                  Class 1A District 4 - Brilliant
                  Class 2A District 1 - Foley
                  Class 2A District 2 - Valley
                  Class 2A District 3 - Lineville
                  Class 2A District 4 - Addison & Kennedy, tie

        1962 UPI - Cullman

        1961 UPI - Sidney Lanier

        1960 UPI - Lee Montgomery

        1959 Montgomery Advertiser - 3A Lee Montgomery & Valley (tie), 2A Enterprise, 1A Sumter County

        1958 Montgomery Advertiser - 3A Lee Montgomery, 2A Lanett, 1A Catholic Montgomery

        1957 Montgomery Advertiser - 2A Lanett, 1A Red Level

        1953Birmingham Post-Herald - 3A West End, 2A McAdory     
        1946 - The AHSAA lists Ensley as the champion but it was actually Ramsay that laid claim to the title according to the Birmingham News.

        1947 - Once again the AHSAA has Ramsay winning the crown when in reality it was Decatur.

        1948 - The last one that the AHSAA has incorrect is Aliceville when it was actually Decatur once again.

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Brantley won an amazing 62 consecutive region games between 2002-2010.