We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Coaches with 100 Wins

     Share on Facebook         

          Since the inception of some nine years ago one of our first priorities was to compile a list of the winningest coaches in the history of Alabama high school football. Over time the list has become more refined as the scores for games have been found through the diligent research completed by myself and many other interested fans of the website.

          This task began with a list of all coaches with at least 100 wins and has grown from that point. We currently have 334 coach that have at least 100 verified coaching wins. There are 71 active coaches with at least 100 wins entering the 2016 season. That number is quite surprising and seems to make the 100 win plateau seem attainable by most coaches with moderate success. Still it is a standard of which coaches are measured.

          As the 2016 football season approaches, there are a number of coaches who are on the verge of being added to our list of winningest coaches. We will follow these and others throughout the season and let you know when and if they reach this milestone.

          Before we reveal the list of potential newcomers to the 100 wins list there are other milestone coaching wins within reach of other coaches. Buddy Anderson of Vestavia Hills continues to add to his win total. He sits atop the list for the most all-time wins in Alabama high school football history. Fred Yancey is seven victories from the 250 win mark.

          David Powell at McAdory with 196 wins should reach the 200 win milestone early in the season. Trent Taylor (194), Hugh Fountain (193) and Steve Smith (193) are within reach of the 200 win plateau.

          Below is the complete list of coaches that could possibly reach 100 wins this season. There may be a few others that could reach 100 wins if their teams do extremely well and win more than twelve games in 2016.

Coach Team Games Won Lost
Ernie Willingham Collinsville 168 99 69
Mitchell Tuberville Monroe Academy 123 99 24
Mark Hastings Oakman 181 99 82
Ronn Lee St. Luke's 224 98 126
Danny Raines Berry Fayette 150 97 53
Jerry Hood Clay-Chalkville 144 97 47
Swane Morris Gaston 171 97 74
Andro Williams Linden 119 97 22
Doug Vickery Jr. Flomaton 175 96 79
Royce Young Escambia County 268 94 174
Rodney Stidham Hamilton 139 94 45
Tim Perry Wetumpka 190 94 96
Jeff Pugh East Limestone 174 93 81
Jay Brown Moody 181 93 88
Jeff Kelly Saraland 143 93 50
Michael D. Jackson Red Bay 156 91 65
Jason Allen Chambers Academy 161 89 72
Jim Elgin Pleasant Grove 140 89 51
Jimmy Perry St. James 140 89 51


David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Marion County defeated Meek 83-6 in a playoff game in 2012. It is the most points scored by a team in a playoff game.