We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2015  Team Records

     Share on Facebook         

          The 2015 season opens soon without a few schools fielding teams this year. Butler, Akron and Sunshine closed at the end of the school year. Restoration Academy, Lyman Ward and Shades Mountain Christian decided to not field teams this season.

          There are more than a few teams shooting to set new milestones for their programs this season. Hoover tied Hazlewood with eleven state championships and could very well become the all-time leader this year. Edgewood Academy took over sole possession of first place for most consecutive titles with their fifth tile in a row in 2014.

          T.R. Miller and Hoover are battling for the top spot for the most playoff wins all-time. Hoover with 86 wins and Miller with 85 wins have been consistent winners of playoffs games over the past few decades. Last year, Hoover topped the mark set by Hazlewood (85) for most playoff wins all-time.

          Edgewood Academy holds onto the longest winning streak in the AISA with a string of 58 consecutive games without a loss. Fyffe, Clay-Chalkville and St. Paul's enter the season with fifteen game winning streaks.
Edgewood Academy (AISA) 58
Clay-Chalkville 15
Fyffe 15
St. Paul's 15
Madison Academy 14
Maplesville 14
Hoover 12

          The state's longest losing streak belongs to Butler. The once proud football program could not seem to find any winning formula over the past seven seasons. Their record sits at a dismal 3-67 during that time. I suppose the good news is that the streak is officially ended as they will not field a team in 2015 following the school closing.

          Ironically Lyman Ward, in second place, will not be on the football field either so the longest losing streak falls to Holly Pond with 20 consecutive losses. They are followed closely by Holy Spirit and Wilcox Central.

          The state's longest losing streak is not in jeopardy any time soon. R.C. Hatch holds onto that mark having lost 56 straight between 1997-2005.

Butler 39
Lyman Ward 30
Holly Pond 20
Holy Spirit 19
Wilcox Central 19

          The longest region winning streak belongs to the Rattlers of Tanner high school. They have won 41 consecutive region games and have not lost in region play since 2009.

          The Brantley Bulldogs set the standard for winning region games when they reeled off 62 straight between 2002-10. That mark will be safe for at least a few more seasons.

Tanner 41
Maplesville 37
Fyffe 35
Madison Academy 28
Brantley 26
Edgewood Academy (AISA) 24
UMS-Wright 22
Homewood 21
Hoover 21
Fayette County 20

          The longest region losing streak is held by Bullock County at 39 straight losses.

          R.C. Hatch also hold tightly onto the record for most consecutive region losses have put together a streak of 92 straight between 1983-2007. That mark may never be broken.

Bullock County 39
Holy Spirit 30
Lyman Ward 26
Cottage Hill Christian 21
Southeastern 20
West Morgan 20
Holly Pond 19
Monroe County 17
Paul Bryant 15

          The longest home winning streak belongs to Maplesville with a string of 42 straight. If they stumble, Muscle Shoals (30) and Brantley (20) are close on their heels.

Maplesville 42
Edgewood Academy  (AISA) 31
Muscle Shoals 30
Brantley 20
Oakman 17
Marengo Academy (AISA) 16
Pleasant Grove 16
Bessemer Academy (AISA) 15
Guntersville 15
Jackson 14

          The longest regular season winning streak in the AHSAA belongs to Maplesville. The Red Devils have not lost a game during the regular season since falling to Sweet Water midway through the 2012 season. Hoover is 58-2 over the past six regular seasons.

          The record for most consecutive regular season wins belongs to the Prattville Lions with a string of 56 (2001-07).

Edgewood Academy  (AISA) 43
Maplesville 24
Dale County 20
Fyffe 19
Guntersville 18
Bessemer Academy  (AISA) 16
G.W. Long 16
Montgomery Academy 16
Glencoe 14
St. Paul's 14

          The Clay-Chalkville Cougars hold onto the longest streak of scoring 20 or more points in a game. They have managed to score at least twenty points in 62 consecutive contests.

Clay-Chalkville 62
Hoover 56
Sweet Water 42
Bessemer Academy (AISA) 36
Elba 36
Cordova 35
Oneonta 35

          The Davidson Warriors have won 17 consecutive season openers. They have not lost an opening game since falling to Daphne in 1997.

Davidson 17
Fort Payne 13
Pleasant Grove 13
North Sand Mountain 10

David Parker

comments powered by Disqus

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Robby James has won nine AISA State Championships during his career at Catherine Academy, Morgan Academy and Marengo Academy.