We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Did You Know? 

    Thursday, Aug. 14, 2015 

       To get everyone through the last week before football season begins, it might be good to take a look at some of the obscure trivia from high school football in the state. Who knows, you may win a few bucks with a trivia question that no one else can answer. The most important thing is to get through the next week and all will be well.

    Did you know there have been four football players from the state of Alabama that have been the first overall selection in the NFL draft?
         Harry Gilmer, Woodlawn (1948), Bo Jackson, McAdory (1986), Aundray Bruce, Carver Montgomery (1988) and Jamarcus Russell, Williamson (2007)

   What is the most popular mascot among current teams?
         Most people think Bulldogs are the most common, but the Tigers are the most commonly used mascot by 46 teams.

   The first night football game was played in Montgomery.
         The first night game played between high school teams in the state occurred on September 23, 1927 when Pike Road and Cloverdale met in the Cramton Bowl in Montgomery.

    The longest game in state history went seven overtimes.
         Murphy and Theodore battled through seven overtimes before the Panthers came out on top 33-26 in 1979.

    There was once a playoff game where 132 points were scored.
         Etowah defeated Oxford 69-63 in 1991 to set a state record for most points scored by both teams in a six overtime playoff game. A fan reminded me that Clay-Chalkville broke that record last year by defeating Scottsboro 85-50.

    What are the most points scored in a single quarter in a football game?
         Thomasville scored 54 points against Gulf Shores in the first quarter of a game in 2003. They managed to hang on for an 81-14 win.

   The Hoover Bucs have played all but one of the past 15 State Championship games.
          The only season the Bucs did not reach the Super Six title game was in 2007 when Prattville defeated Spain Park for the title.

    Paul Burnum finished with a career coaching record of 44-0-1.
          Coach Burnum was the head football coach of the Tuscaloosa Black Bears from 1925-29 and never left the field with a team that lost a football game. He left in 1929 to become the Alabama freshman football coach.

    Three schools have had multiple Mr. Football winners.
          Vigor had Tommy Compton (1982) and Darrell Williams (1988). Etowah players are  Freddie Kitchens (1992) and Carnell Williams (2000). Pike County had Steven Coleman (1898) and Chris Nickson (2003).

     Dadeville went from 0-10 to 10-0 in one year.
         In 2007, Dadeville finished the season with an 0-10 record. The next year they finished the regular season with a perfect 10-0 record. It is the only time in state history this has occurred. Almost as incredible, is the fact that the Tigers have only lost seven games in the past five seasons since that forgettable 2007 season.

   The Clarke County Bulldogs have played the most tie games in history.
         Clarke County has the distinction of holding the record for tie games with 54. If a tie is like kissing your sister, as the saying goes, the Bulldogs need a psychological intervention.

    T.R Miller has played in the most playoff games.
         The Tigers have suited up for 109 playoff games since 1966 winning 82 of those games.

   Super Bowl winning quarterbacks.
         Bart Starr (1966-67) and Kenny Stabler (1976) were Super Bowl winning quarterbacks from the state of Alabama. Stabler is also one of the few quarterbacks to win a state championship in high school, a national championship in college and a Super Bowl.

   R.C. Hatch and a losing streak.
         R.C. Hatch once lost 104 consecutive region or area games between 1980 and 200. 

   Most consecutive region championships.
         Hazlewood and R.A. Hubbard are tied for the most consecutive region/area championships with seventeen.

    Never reaching the post season.
         Bullock County is the only team to compete in the AHSAA every season since the playoffs began in 1966 to have never qualified for a spot in the post season.

    Worst playoff record.
         While many teams have never won a playoff game, Francis Marion holds the worst record by going 0-12 in the post season.

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1925 Langdale tied a record by defeating Milltown 125-0. Hamilton had set the record by thrashing Fayette 125-0 in 1915.