We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2014  Team Records

     Share on Facebook         

          The 2014 football season may see a few team records fall before the end of the year. Hoover with ten state championships could tie the mark held by Hazlewood. Edgewood Academy has a shot at taking over sole possession of first place for most consecutive titles if they pull off a fifth tile in a row.

          If T.R. Miller wins two playoff games they will top the mark set by Hazlewood (85) for most playoff wins all-time. If Edgewood wins their first playoff game this season they will set a new mark in the AISA with a string of 13 straight playoff wins.

          The Hoover Bucs open the 2014 season riding a 30 game unbeaten streak, the longest among the AHSAA team. The Bucs have not lost since the 2011 state championship game against Prattville. Edgewood Academy holds onto the longest streak in the AISA with a string of 45 consecutive games without a loss.

          The Bucs are still a long way from the 55 consecutive wins put up by Clay County between 1994-1997. Edgewood already tops the all-time mark for the AISA having beat a streak of 44 games set by Pickens Academy (1994-97) late last season.

Edgewood Academy (AISA) 45
Hoover 30
Madison Academy 25
Spanish Fort 24
Pickens County 15
Oneonta 14
Marengo Academy (AISA) 13
Monroe Academy (AISA) 13
Tanner 13

          The state's longest losing streak belongs to Butler. The once proud football program can not seem to find any winning formula over the past six seasons. Their record sits at a dismal 3-57 during that time. They are followed closely by Red Level, Bullock County and Woodville.

          The state's longest losing streak is not in jeopardy any time soon. R.C. Hatch holds onto that mark having lost 56 straight between 1997-2005.

Butler 29
Red Level 26
Bullock County 25
Woodville 25
Lyman Ward 23
Vina 22
Cottage Hill Christian 21
Carbon Hill 20
West Morgan 18
Holt 17
John Essex 17

          The longest region winning streak belongs to the Rattlers of Tanner high school. They have won 35 consecutive region games and have not lost in region play since 2009. Monroe Academy comes in a close second representing the AISA school with a streak of 34 straight region wins dating back to 2007.

          The Brantley Bulldogs set the standard for winning region games when they reeled off 62 straight between 2002-10. That mark will be safe for at least a few more seasons.

Tanner 35
Monroe Academy (AISA) 34
Maplesville 31
Fyffe 29
Linden 24
Muscle Shoals 23
Jackson 21
Madison Academy 21
Brantley 20
Luverne 19
Edgewood Academy (AISA) 18
Sweet Water 18
Walker 18
UMS-Wright 16
Oneonta 15

          The longest region losing streak is held by Bullock County at 32 straight losses.

          R.C. Hatch also hold tightly onto the record for most consecutive region losses have put together a streak of 92 straight between 1983-2007. That mark may never be broken.

Bullock County 32
Victory Christian 30
Butler 27
Lyman Ward 26
Woodville 26
Holy Spirit 24
Dallas County 23
Carbon Hill 19
Columbia 18
Curry 18
Red Level 18
Hokes Bluff 16
Thorsby 16
Baldwin County 15
Cottage Hill Christian 15
Vina 15

          The longest home winning streak belongs to Maplesville with a string of 35 straight. If they stumble, Hoover (33) and Tanner (32) are close on their heels.

Maplesville 35
Hoover 33
Tanner 32
Edgewood Academy  (AISA) 24
Muscle Shoals 24
Madison Academy 22
McAdory 16
Brantley 14
Spanish Fort 14
Oakman 11
Restoration Academy  (AISA) 11
Pickens County 10

          The longest regular season winning streak in the AHSAA belongs to Hoover. The Bucs have not during the regular season since falling to Mountain Brook late in 2011. Hoover is 39-1 over the past four regular seasons.

          The record for most consecutive regular season wins belongs to the Prattville Lions with a string of 56 (2001-07).

Edgewood Academy  (AISA) 33
Hoover 21
Lanett 15
Madison Academy 15
Maplesville 15
Spanish Fort 14
Marengo Academy  (AISA) 12
Saks 12
T.R. Miller 11
Charles Henderson 10
Dale County 10
Jackson 10
Monroe Academy  (AISA) 10
Pickens County 10
Restoration Academy  (AISA) 10
Southside Gadsden 10

          The Davidson Warriors take over the lead for most season openers won in a row after Enterprise lost to open the 2013 season. The Warriors hold on to a string of 16 consecutive wins to open a season. They have not lost an opening game since falling to Daphne in 1997.

Davidson 16
Childersburg 13
Fort Payne 12
Pleasant Grove 12
Southern Choctaw 12
North Sand Mountain 10

David Parker

comments powered by Disqus

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won five consecutive state championships from 1988-1992. During this span the Golden Bears won 29 playoff games in a row.