We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2013 Mr. Football  

     Share on Facebook         

Oxford's Racean Thomas named 2013 Mr. Football by Alabama Sports Writers Association 

MONTGOMERY -- Oxford's Racean Thomas was named the 32nd recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association's Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA's annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The annual luncheon was held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery. 

Thomas, a 5-11, 200-pound senior, fought injuries this season and still came away with 2,211 yards rushing and 32 touchdowns. The three-time ASWA first-team all-state selection finished his high school career with 6,169 yards rushing and 82 touchdowns. The Class 6A Back of the Year was selected for the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and the Under Armour All-American Bowl and has committed to Auburn. 

Thomas was a runaway winner, garnering 217 points and 15 of the 17 first-place votes from the ASWA prep committee. Calera's Ronnie Clark, the Class 4A Back of the Year, was the runner up with 130 points, Class 6A Lineman of the Year, Rashaan Evans, of Auburn was third with 122, and Florence quarterback Kendrick Doss was fourth with 110 points. St. Paul's linebacker Tre Williams was fifth with 96 points and one first-place vote, while Class 1A Back of the Year, Jermarcus Brown of Pickens County, was sixth with 91 points and a first-place vote. 

All six players were selected for the ASWA Super 12 team, along with running back Keith Mixon of Shades Valley, quarterback Tyler Johnston of Spanish Fort, running back Nick Gibson of Pinson Valley, offensive lineman Jordan Sims of Homewood, running back Dantley Coker of Southside-Gadsden and linebacker Shaun Hamilton of Carver-Montgomery. 

In winning the Mr. Football award, Johnson becomes the first winner from Calhoun County since running back Mac Campbell of Alexandria in 1997 and is the second running back chosen as Mr. Football in three years (Daphne's T.J. Yeldon in 2011), but only third since 2000 (Carnell Williams of Etowah in 2000).  


1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor

1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery

1987 Robert Jones, Parker

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah

1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson

1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis

1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville

2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville

2007 Julio Jones, Foley

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy

2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.

2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka

2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne

2012 Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery

2013 Racean Thomas, Oxford


Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote getters only; Super 12/Mr Football voting is top 12 only; 39 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12. Voting for Back/Linemen of the Year and Super 12 are two different votes.  


Jake McKenzie, Monroe Academy, 40

Jarrette Pope, Clarke Prep, 32

Josh Crawford, Edgewood Academy, 18


AISA Lineman

Cortney Wilbanks, Restoration, 44

Trey Carter, Monroe Academy, 25

Terrell Bush, Tuscaloosa Academy, 21


Class 1A Back

Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County, 68

Terrance Hollingsworth, Berry, 63

Brody Meeks, Lynn, 39


Class 1A Lineman

Eddquerrion Harris, R.A. Hubbard, 56

Ben Mills, Coosa Christian, 53

Jatevin Horn, Marengo, 47


Class 2A Back

Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, 64

Marlon Bridges, Lanett, 57

Jakoby Aldridge, Sweet Water, 51


Class 2A Lineman

Baltazar Rubio, Tanner, 73

Kadarrius Lawrence, Fultondale, 66

Trent Thrash, Fyffe, 38


Class 3A Back

Jamarius Henderson, Dale County, 65

Ryan Carpenter, Colbert County, 48

Malik Miller, Madison Academy, 40


Class 3A Lineman

Tyler Wright, Leeds, 62

Exavyer Jackson, Piedmont, 60

Frank Williams, Madison Academy, 39


Class 4A Back

Ronnie Clark, Calera, 80

Troy Dixon, UMS-Wright, 45

C.J. Tolbert, Dadeville, 37


Class 4A Lineman

Richard McBryde, Charles Henderson, 70

Blake Bean, Oneonta, 54

A.J. Smoot, Dora, 51


Class 5A Back

Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley, 63

Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 53

Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden, 52


Class 5A Lineman

Jordan Sims, Homewood, 66

Tre Williams, St. Paul's, 58

Tyler Carr, Southside-Gadsden, 44


Class 6A Back

Racean Thomas, Oxford, 62

Kendrick Doss, Florence, 36

Keith Mixon, Shades Valley, 34


Class 6A Lineman

Rashaan Evans, Auburn, 74

Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery, 56

Keith Holcombe, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa, 39



Racean Thomas, Oxford, 217

Ronnie Clark, Calera, 130

Rashaan Evans, Auburn, 122

Kendrick Doss, Florence, 110

Tre Williams, St. Paul's, 96

Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County, 91

Keith Mixon, Shades Valley, 90

Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 57

Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley, 51

Jordan Sims, Homewood, 47

Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden, 40

Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery, 29

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Parrish scored a record 77 points in a playoff game against Cedar Bluff in 2001. The Tornados were shutout the following week 19-0 by Courtland.