We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2011 Football Playoffs


Four Defending Champs Advance To Third Round

       Four of the six defending state champions captured second-round victories and advanced to the Alabama High School Athletic Association state football playoff quarterfinals Friday (Nov. 18). All games are scheduled for 7 p.m.
          Prattville (9-2) knocked off defending 6A state champion Daphne 13-3 to set up the quarterfinal battle at Fairhope (10-2). And in Class 4A, unbeaten Dadeville (12-0) blocked a field goal in the waning moments to beat defending 4A state champion Thomasville 28-26 and set up a matchup at UMS-Wright (8-4) this week.

        Defending 1A state champion Sweet Water (9-3) beat previously unbeaten Winterboro 49-0 and will host Pickens County (11-1). Class 2A defending champ Leroy (8-4) stopped Highland Home 30-7 and will host American Christian (11-1). Class 3A defending champion Leeds (10-2) beat Gordo 21-6 and will go on the road against Region 3 rival Clay County at Ashland.  Class 5A defending champion Spanish Fort (9-3) defeated Valley 31-16 and will travel to Region 1 foe Vigor this week in a game scheduled for Prichard Stadium.

          Jackson (12-0) and Bibb County (12-0) each posted second-round victories over Beauregard and Lincoln, respectively, to set up a Class 4A match-up featuring unbeaten teams at Centreville.

        In Class 2A, Elba (12-0) remained unbeaten with a 59-20 win over Vincent in a game that set a state record with three consecutive kickoff returns for touchdowns to start the second half. The Tigers returned the opening kickoff of the third quarter for a TD, then Vincent returned the ensuing kickoff for a score before Elba regained the momentum by running back the next kickoff for a touchdown.

         A total of 13 unbeaten teams advanced to the second round. Those teams include:

Class 1A: Maplesville (12-0) and Ragland (12-0); Class 2A: Elba (12-0) and Tanner (11-0); Class 3A: Handley (12-0) and Piedmont (12-0); Class 4A: Jackson (12-0), Dadeville (12-0) and Bibb County (12-0); Class 5A: Hueytown (12-0) and Hartselle (12-0); Class 6A: Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa (12-0) and Mountain Brook (12-0).
          The semifinals are scheduled Friday, Nov. 25, and the Super 6 state finals Dec. 1-2 at Bryant-Denny Stadium on the campus of the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa.


2011 AHSAA Football Playoffs

Third-round pairings

All games are Friday, Nov. 18 at 7 p.m.

Class 1A

Pickens County (11-1) at Sweet Water (9-3)

Maplesville (12-0) at Linden (11-1), Marengo HS Stadium, Dixons Mills


Collinsville (11-1) at Ragland (12-0)

Marion County (11-1) at Donoho (11-1), Anniston


Class 2A

Elba (12-0) at Flomaton (11-1)

American Christian (11-1) at Leroy (8-4)


Tanner (12-0) at Woodland (8-4)

Lineville (9-3) at Fultondale (10-2)


Class 3A

Handley (12-0) at Washington County (10-2), Chatom

Leeds (10-2) at Clay County (11-1), Ashland


Piedmont (12-0) at Rogers (10-2)

Lauderdale County (11-1) at Madison Academy (10-2), Madison


Class 4A

Dadeville (12-0) at UMS-Wright (8-4), Mobile

Jackson (12-0) at Bibb County (12-0), Centreville


Anniston (8-4) at Fayette County (9-3), Fayette

Deshler (11-1) at Oneonta (10-2)


Class 5A

Spanish Fort (9-3) at Vigor (10-2), Prichard

Hueytown (12-0) at Saint Paul’s (11-1), Mobile


Hartselle (12-0)  at Center Point (11-1)

Muscle Shoals (11-1) at Briarwood Christian (11-1), Birmingham


Class 6A

McGill-Toolen (11-1) at Central-Phenix City (10-2)

Prattville (9-2) at Fairhope (10-2)


Mountain Brook (12-0) at Oxford (11-1)

Hoover (11-1) at Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa (12-0)      

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1970 Monroe Academy won the first championship in the A.I.S.A. by defeating Lowndes Academy 6-0.