We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2011 Awards

ASWA names Mr. Football   

Daphne's T.J. Yeldon named 2011 Mr. Football by

Alabama Sports Writers Association 

MONTGOMERY - Daphne running back T.J. Yeldon was named the 30th recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association's Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA's annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The event was held at the Alabama Activity Center.

Yeldon - a 6-foot-2, 210-pound running back - rushed for 2,196 yards in 12 games during 2011 on 231 carries, for a 9.6 average per carry to go with 31 touchdowns on the season. He broke the 300-yard mark on two occasions in leading the Trojans to the Class 6A No. 1 ranking for much of the season and a 10-2 final record. As a junior, Yeldon rushed for 1,110 yards and 18 touchdowns while grabbing 506 yards receiving in helping the Trojans to the Class 6A title.

Yeldon finished with 187 points in the vote by the ASWA's prep committee. Hueytown quarterback Jameis "Jaboo" Winston, the Class 5A Back of the Year, was second with 173 points, while Anniston running back Troymaine Pope, the Class 4A Back of the Year, was third with 116. Fultondale quarterback and Class 2A Back of the Year ArDarius Stewart was fourth with 84 and Thomasville linebacker and Class 4A Lineman of the Year Tyler Hayes was fifth with 79 points.

Yeldon was named the ASWA Class 6A Back of the Year and was chosen to the group's Super 12 team. He rushed for 116 yards and three touchdowns in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and was an U.S. Army All-American Bowl participant, where he had 51 all-purpose yards. Yeldon is currently enrolled at the University of Alabama.

In winning the Mr. Football award, Yeldon becomes the first running back to win the award since Carnell Williams of Etowah in 2000 and the sixth player from the Mobile area, joining Tommy Compton (Vigor, 1982), Darrell Williams (Vigor, 1988), DeMarco McNeil (Blount, 1998), JaMarcus Russell (Williamson, 2002) and Julio Jones (Foley, 2007).


1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor

1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom

1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale

1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood

1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery

1987 Robert Jones, Parker

1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor

1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.

1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin

1991 Robert Davis, Homewood

1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah

1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson

1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley

1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis

1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa

1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria

1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount

1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville

2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah

2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville

2002 JaMarcus Russell,Williamson

2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.

2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover

2005 Andre Smith, Huffman

2006 Larry Smith, Prattville

2007 Julio Jones, Foley

2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy

2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.

2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka

2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne



Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote getters only; Super 12/Mr Football voting is top 12 only. 41 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12. 

Class 1A Back
DeMarko Hall, Pickens County, 69
Anthony Robinson, Linden, 56
Terrence Hollingsworth, Berry, 49

Class 1A Lineman
Terris Lewis, Linden, 60
Damien Davenport, McIntosh, 43
Curtavious Gray, Winterboro, 29

Class 2A Back
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 76
Austin Grammer, American Christian, 62
Michael Lindsey, Elba, 51

Class 2A Lineman
Bradley Patterson, Red Bay, 58
Kyle Sappington, American Christian, 54
Kemond Gauntt, Reeltown, 44

Class 3A Back
Diamond Simmons, Hanceville, 55
Ladarius Rodgers, Leeds, 48
Shawncey Simmons, Clay County, 31

Class 3A Lineman
Bradley Bozeman, Handley, 63
Javiere Mitchell, Leeds, 40
Chris Dillard, Handley, 32

Class 4A Back
Troymaine Pope, Anniston, 73
Dustyn Moseley, Jackson, 58
C.J. Cutts, Bibb Co., 43

Class 4A Lineman
Tyler Hayes, Thomasville, 73
Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 46
Darren Lake, Sumter County, 41

Class 5A Back
Jameis Winston, Hueytown, 79
Maurice Crews, Eufaula, 54
Jake Ganus, Chelsea, 39

Class 5A Lineman
Chris Rabb, Hueytown, 79
Jamichael Winston, Vigor, 55
Dee Liner, Muscle Shoals, 46

Class 6A Back
T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, 80
Trae Elston, Oxford, 52
Caleb Sims, Hoover, 45

Class 6A Lineman
Reggie Ragland, Bob Jones, 69
Austin Golson, Prattville, 53
Ryan Anderson, Daphne, 47

Sam Coleman, Edgewood Academy, 76
Xavier Bond, Glenwood, 60
Parker Hughes, Morgan Academy, 53

AISA Lineman
Nick McLaughlin, Pike Liberal, 74
Blake Glaze, Springwood, 59
E.J. Sledge, Bessemer Academy, 43

T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, 187
Jameis "Jaboo" Winston, Hueytown, 173
Troymaine Pope, Anniston, 116
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 84
Tyler Hayes, Thomasville, 79
Reggie Ragland, Bob Jones, 65
Chris Rabb, Hueytown, 57
Ryan Anderson, Daphne, 51
DeMarko Hall, Pickens County, 46
Diamond Simmons, Hanceville, 35
Austin Grammer, American Christian, 31
Dustyn Moseley, Jackson, 29

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Hazlewood won an amazing seventeen consecutive region championships from 1986-2002.