We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2010 Alabama Mr. Football Selection


Wetumpka’s Jamal Golden named 2010 Mr. Football by

Alabama Sports Writers Association

 Wetumpka quarterback Jamal Golden was named the 29th recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association Mr. Football Award Presented by Hibbett Sports on Wednesday at the ASWA's annual Player of the Year Awards Luncheon. The annual luncheon was held at the Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex.

Golden – a 6-foot, 185-pound quarterback - was a three-year starter for the Indians, leading them to a 10-2 record and a spot in the Class 6A quarterfinals, where they lost to state champion Daphne. Golden was named the Class 6A Back of the Year by the ASWA and also earned Gatorade Player of the Year honors. He was the ASWA's All-State selection at quarterback this year, after being named the group’s honorable mention selection in 2009.

Golden finished with 222 points in the vote by the ASWA football committee. Spanish Fort offensive lineman Reese Dismukes edged out Russellville running back Brent Calloway for second with a 190-184 vote. Leeds defensive back Jonathan Rose was fourth with 145 points and Leroy wide receiver Sammie Coates was fifth with 141.

Golden accounted for 3,477 yards of offense and 37 touchdowns as a senior, and accounted for more than 6,200 yards and 63 touchdowns in the last two seasons. Golden rushed for 1,148 yards and 14 touchdowns in 12 games, while passing for 2,351 yards with 23 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He led the Indians to their first quarterfinal appearance since 1996 and third nine-win or better season in the last four years.

In winning the Mr. Football award, Golden becomes eighth quarterback in the last 10 years to win the honor and fourth from the Montgomery area, following Larry Smith of Prattville in 2006, Gorman Thornton of Jeff Davis in 1995 and Larry Ware of Lee-Montgomery in 1986.


1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor
1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom
1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale
1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood
1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery
1987 Robert Jones, Parker
1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor
1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.
1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin
1991 Robert Davis, Homewood
1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah
1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson
Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley
1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis
1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa
1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria
1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount
1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville
2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah
2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville
2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson
2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.
2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover
2005 Andre Smith, Huffman
2006 Larry Smith, Prattville
2006 Julio Jones, Foley
2006 Clint Moseley, Leroy
2006 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County
2006 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Hazlewood Golden Bears have won 11 state titles. The most of any team in any classification since the playoffs began in 1966.