We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Mr. Football 200

Foley wide receiver Julio Jones
Named 2007 Mr. Football winner

     BIRMINGHAM  -- Foley High School senior Julio Jones has been named by the Alabama Sports Writers Association as Alabama’s 2007 Mr. Football.

    Jones, who led the Lions to an 12-1 record in 2007, was the overwhelming choice  of the ASWA Mr. Football Committee comprised of sports writers who cover prep sports in the state. Ross Wood of the Clarke County Democrat is chairman of the committee.

    Jones was recognized Tuesday at the Mr. Football/Player of the Year luncheon hosted at Birmingham-Southern College by The Birmingham News.

   Jones, a 6-foot-4, 215-pound senior, finished the 2007 season with 68 catches for 1,133 yards and 15 touchdowns a year after recording 75 receptions for 1,301 yards and 15 scores.  He missed all or part of four games this season due to injuries but still managed impressive numbers.

    Named by ESPN as the nation’s top prep recruit for the Class of 2008, Jones lived up to the recognition by dominating games throughout the season as Foley enjoyed a perfect 10-0 regular season. A third-round loss to eventual state champion Prattville ended the Lions’ year.

  “An award like this comes with a lot of hard work. I have worked hard, but there was also a lot of hard work from my teammates,” Alabama’s Mr. Football award winner Julio Jones said. “I have tried to be a leader on the field, but this has been a team effort.”

   Runner-up to Jones was Sweet Water running back Anthony Landrum, who led the Bulldogs to a third Class 1A state title in the last four years. He earned championship game MVP in all three finals. The remainder of the top five were Briarwood Christian’s  Barrett Trotter, Spain Park’s William Green and Vestavia Hills’ Justin Rogers.

  Jones also was named Class 6A Back of the Year by the ASWA – selected from three finalists including Vestavia 2,000-yard rusher Rogers and Prattville star running back Justin Albert.

    Mountain Brook’s 6-goot-7, 280-pound senior tackle Tyler Love was named Class 6A Lineman of the Year – edging out Spain Park defensive end William Green and Gadsden City linebacker Jerrell Harris for the honor.

   A Back and Lineman of the Year were selected in each of the six AHSAA classifications as well as the AISA. Six finalists, three backs and three linemen, were selected from more than 160 players who were nominated by the ASWA members and state’s prep coaches. All 42 were honored at the banquet.

    Overall winners included:
BACK: Julio Jones, Foley, wide receiver, Sr.; LINEMAN: Tyler Love, Mountain Brook, offensive tackle, Sr.
BACK: Barrett Trotter, Briarwood Christian, quarterback, Sr.; LINEMAN: Courtney Upshaw, Eufaula, tight end/defensive end, Sr.
BACK: Jeremy Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa, quarterback, Sr.; LINEMAN: Tana Patrick, North Jackson, tight end/linebacker, Jr.
BACK: Jeremy Yates, Colbert Heights, quarterback, Sr.; LINEMAN: Ottis Jackson, Clarke County, offensive lineman/linebacker, Sr.
BACK: Clint Moseley, Leroy, quarterback, Jr.; LINEMAN: James Jordan, J.B. Pennington, defensive end/offensive tackle, Sr.
BACK: Anthony Landrum, Sweet Water, running back, Sr.; LINEMAN: Dexter Daniels, Brantley, linebacker, Sr.
BACK: Brandon Heavens, Bessemer Academy, wide receiver, Jr.; LINEMAN: Tavon Arrington, Bessemer Academy, linebacker, So.

    Dec. 12, 2007

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Hazlewood Golden Bears have won 11 state titles. The most of any team in any classification since the playoffs began in 1966.