We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama High School Football All State Team

Select a classification.
  6A   5A   4A   3A   2A   1A   AISA

2008  Alabama Sports Writers Association  2A  All-State Team

The following players were selected for the 2008 2A All-State football team. First team players are listed by position, name, school, height, weight and class. Honorable mention selections are listed by name, school and class.

Alabama Sports Writers Association  *  First Team Offense 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Clint Moseley Leroy QB  Sr.6-3 192
 J.D. Williams Clay County RB  Jr.5-9 160
 Tony Ellis Flomaton RB  Sr.5-9 180
 Tray Cosby Tanner RB  So.5-10 175
 Steadman Shealy Jr. American Christian WR  Sr.6-0 167
 Mardrecas Hood Pickens County WR  Sr.6-3 200
 Dominique Bonman Sulligent WR  Sr.6-2 174
 Dashaun Vasser New Brockton OL  Sr.6-3 297
 Chris Sharp Clay County OL  Sr.6-3 300
 Aaron Williams Leroy OL  Sr.6-3 250
 Josh Williford Houston Academy OL  Sr.6-8 345
 Shane Burrell Geraldine OL  Sr.5-10 200
 Justin Mackey Sand Rock PK  Sr.6-0 185
Alabama Sports Writers Association  *  First Team Defense 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Jonathan McNatt Falkville DB  Sr.6-0 175
 Dominique Croom Cherokee DB  Sr.6-1 178
 Nigel Jones Millry DB  Sr.5-9 175
 Quamain Simmons Clay County DB  Sr.5-11 170
 Ricky Lewis Keith LB  Sr.5-11 185
 Stehle Kornegay Houston Academy LB  Jr.6-1 190
 Josh Ervin Leroy LB  Sr.5-9 198
 Juwan Rogers Vincent LB  Jr.5-11 200
 James Sandlin American Christian DL  Sr.6-2 292
 Jared Washington Lanett DL  Sr.6-2 280
 Amos Draper Tanner DL  Sr.6-3 245
 Anthony Payne Leroy DL  Sr.6-2 285
 Nic Burns Winston County P  Sr.6-0 170
Alabama Sports Writers Association  *  Athletes 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Aerik Davis Leroy ATH  Sr.6-0 165
 Caleb Massey Sulligent ATH  Sr.5-11 179
Alabama Sports Writers Association  *  Coach of the Year 
 Coach   Team 
 Dwight Bowling Sulligent   
Alabama Sports Writers Association  *  Honorable Mention Team 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Matt Sandlin American Christian QB  Jr.6-4 207
 Michael Bracy Leroy RB  Sr.
 Taylor Thrash Fyffe RB  Jr.
 Jonathan Craig Fultondale RB  Jr.
 Marcus Jackson Goshen RB  So.
 Justin Heard Woodland RB  Sr.
 Dwan Lewis Keith RB  Jr.
 Chase Martin Hatton WR  Sr.
 Lucas Yancey Fyffe WR  Sr.
 Edward Robinson Houston County WR  Sr.
 Stephen Scoggins Leroy WR  Sr.
 Matthew Lindsey American Christian OL  Sr.
 Jake Hammond Lexington OL  Jr.
 Jeremy Simmons Clay County OL  Sr.
 Will Andre Houston Academy PK  Jr.
 Brett Frizzell Vincent DB  Jr.
 Clay Phillips Horseshoe Bend DB  Jr.
 Darius Stewart Pickens County LB  Sr.
 Chris Cherry Millry LB  Sr.
 Calvin Fenn Barbour County LB  Sr.
 Morgan Murphy Excel LB  Sr.
 Shamareo Jones Millry DL  Sr.
 Ty Runels Ranburne DL  Sr.
 Brandon Walker Keith DL  Sr.
 Jeremy Edwards St. Jude DL  Sr.
 Cameron Reehl Bayside Academy P  Sr.
 Travis Gardner Houston Academy P  Sr.
 Devondrick Richardson Barbour County ATH  Sr.
 Jake Thompson Sand Rock ATH  Sr.

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

BAH  - Birmingham Age-Herald
BNAH  - Birmingham News Age-Herald
MAJ  - Montgomery Advertiser-Journal
BN  - Birmingham News
BPH  - Birmingham Post-Herald
MA  - Montgomery Advertiser
ASWA  - Alabama Sports Writers Association
ACSA  -  Alabama Christian School Association

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Super 6 State Championships began in 1996. Since then all title games were played at Legion Field in Birmingham until 2009.