We now have 822 teams &  
177,862 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama High School Football All State Team

Select a classification.
  6A   5A   4A   3A   2A   1A

1989  Birmingham News  1A  All-State Team

The following players were selected for the 1989 1A All-State football team. First team players are listed by position, name, school, height, weight and class. Honorable mention selections are listed by name, school and class.

Birmingham News  *  First Team Offense 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Josh Niblett Demopolis Academy QB  Jr.6-1 185
 Kerry Lee Ariton RB  Jr.5-11 175
 Ike Harris Maplesville RB  Sr.6-1 215
 Quentin Bivens Fruitdale RB  Sr.6-1 185
 Jason Parsons Ragland WR  Sr.6-2 170
 Darrin Payton Isabella WR  Sr.6-0 150
 Allen Goodson Carrollton OL  Sr.6-2 215
 Jeffrey Rollins Courtland OL  Sr.6-2 320
 Reid Dove Houston Academy OL  Sr.6-2 230
 Kurt Lavender Carrollton OL  Sr.6-3 275
 Louis Millwood Oakman OL  Sr.6-4 275
 Evan Smith Notasulga PK  Sr.5-11 190
Birmingham News  *  First Team Defense 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Chris Bailey Maplesville DB  Sr.6-4 180
 Johnathan Orr Courtland DB  Jr.5-11 165
 Walter Pitts Loachapoka DB  Sr.6-3 200
 Steve Martin Appalachian LB  Jr.6-1 210
 Clark Rice Houston Academy LB  Sr.6-4 235
 Fred Wilson Autaugaville LB  Sr.5-11 170
 Marcus Hunter Hale County LB  Sr.6-4 210
 Dennis Mackey Sand Rock DL  Sr.6-3 240
 Brady Johnson Excel DL  Sr.6-3 250
 Tim Campbell Maplesville DL  Jr.6-3 245
 Scott Freeman Oakman DL  Jr.6-3 225
 Bryne Diehl Oakman P  Sr.6-2 195
Birmingham News  *  Honorable Mention Team 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Donnie Grizzell Ragland QB  Sr.
 Robert Spencer Maplesville QB  Jr.
 Robin Bell Ariton QB  Sr.
 Steve Gordon Notasulga QB  Sr.
 Shannon Bishop Hackleburg RB  Sr.
 Stacy Brackin Speake RB  Sr.
 Michael Nixon Autaugaville RB  Jr.
 Harold Morrow Maplesville RB  Jr.
 Chris Austin Kinston RB  Sr.
 William Acker Carrollton WR  Sr.
 Chris Carroll Ariton OL  Jr.
 Brian Layton Ragland OL  Sr.
 Dale Chappell Autaugaville OL  Sr.
 Derek Thornton Notasulga OL  Sr.
 Donald Caldwell Wadley DB  Sr.
 Alex Byrd Verbena DB  Sr.
 Stephen Fields Notasulga DB  Sr.
 Sean Gill Marbury DB  Sr.
 Kevin Corbett Marbury LB  Jr.
 Jeremy Herring Ariton LB  Jr.
 Brian Wilson Isabella LB  Sr.6-1 207
 Ervin Moss Ragland DL  Jr.
 Jason Jerkins Cold Springs DL  Sr.
 Greg Patton Fruitdale DL  Jr.
 Russell Lockhart Oakman DL  Sr.
 Chris Ellison Appalachian P  Sr.

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

BAH  - Birmingham Age-Herald
BNAH  - Birmingham News Age-Herald
MAJ  - Montgomery Advertiser-Journal
BN  - Birmingham News
BPH  - Birmingham Post-Herald
MA  - Montgomery Advertiser
ASWA  - Alabama Sports Writers Association
ACSA  -  Alabama Christian School Association

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Alabama School for the Deaf won Deaf School National Championships in 1971, 1987, 1991, 2000, 2001 and 2002.