We now have 827 teams &  
179,605 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama High School Football All State Team

Select a classification.
  4A   3A   2A   1A

1962  Birmingham Post Herald  3A  All-State Team

The following players were selected for the 1962 3A All-State football team. First team players are listed by position, name, school, height, weight and class. Honorable mention selections are listed by name, school and class.

Birmingham Post Herald  *  First Team Offense 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Bobby Beaird Auburn B  Sr. 185
 David Chatwood Fairhope B  Jr. 170
 Don Foster Foley B  Sr. 185
 Jimmy Kent Israel Haleyville B  Jr. 200
 Johnny Stewart Jones Valley E  Sr. 165
 Ronnie Helton Foley E  Sr. 175
 Ralph Edwards Valley T  Sr. 215
 Flynn Morris Geneva T  Sr. 200
 Robert Byrd Scottsboro G  Sr. 200
 Roger Hart Albertville G  Sr. 185
 Lynn Thompson Hartselle C  Sr. 185
 Don Bulger Shelby County Coach  
Birmingham Post Herald  *  Second Team 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Mack Bell Tallassee B  Sr. 175
 Michael Palmer Colbert County B  Sr. 160
 Jerry Gregg Fort Payne B  
 Robert Rumsey Sylacauga B  Sr. 185
 Don Dozier Valley E  Sr.
 Bobby Johnson Bibb County E  
 Eddie Brand Enterprise T  
 Jimmy Whitten Jones Valley T  
 James Pendergraft Arab G  
 Teddy Gibson Foley G  Sr.
 Tony Couch Jacksonville C  
Birmingham Post Herald  *  Honorable Mention Team 
 Player   Team   Position   Class   Ht.   Wt. 
 Verdis Hudson Baldwin County B  
 Wayne Chisenhall Foley B  Sr.
 Rodney Price Geneva B  
 Randy Griffin Opp B  
 Jackie Gray Handley B  
 Gary Cooper Lanett B  Jr.
 Harris Cummings McAdory B  
 Bobby Vaughn Russellville B  
 Jimmy Darnley Theodore B  
 Jimmy Nation Mortimer Jordan B  So.
 Oscar Smitherman Bibb County B  
 Lynwood Wilbanks Tallassee E  
 Jimmy Sullivan Andalusia E  Jr.
 John Jacoway Fort Payne E  
 Douglas Kennedy Fairhope E  
 Thurston Lauder Foley E  Sr.
 Stan Thornton Haleyville E  
 Terry Watson Eufaula T  
 Bud Williams Lanett T  Sr. 235
 Byron Holderfield Albertville T  
 Bill Betts Jones Valley T  
 Perry Balland Opp T  
 Morris Dutton Fort Payne G  
 Leonard Smart Fairhope G  
 Jim Pinkerton Enterprise G  
 Humphrey Snyder Escambia County G  
 Teddy Gibson Foley G  Sr.
 Ray Jordan Carroll G  
 Richard Cooley Valley C  
 John Aikens Theodore C  

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

BAH  - Birmingham Age-Herald
BNAH  - Birmingham News Age-Herald
MAJ  - Montgomery Advertiser-Journal
BN  - Birmingham News
BPH  - Birmingham Post-Herald
MA  - Montgomery Advertiser
ASWA  - Alabama Sports Writers Association
ACSA  -  Alabama Christian School Association

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

In 1970 Monroe Academy won the first championship in the A.I.S.A. by defeating Lowndes Academy 6-0.