We now have 833 teams &  
183,794 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1988 State Championship Final Summaries

Vigor would later win a share of the National Championship in 1988.
This team is considered by many to be the best overall team in the history of high school football in Alabama
1988 Class 5A State Championship Game
Oxford vs. Smiths Station
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
26   Pell City 13 W  
 Anniston W  
28   Talladega 21 W  
29   Gardendale W  
10   Southside Gadsden W  
29   Homewood W  
44   Saks W  
23   Walter Wellborn 16 W  
41   Jacksonville W  
42   Emma Sansom 14 W  1st Rd
21   Pell City W  2nd Rd
14   Walter Wellborn 13 W  3rd Rd
27   Muscle Shoals W  Semi
21   Smiths Station 14 W  Finals
36214-0-0 132
Region Record  3-0
Smiths Station
 Site  PF   Opponent  PA   WLT  OT    
28   Lanett W  
26   Pacelli GA 14 W  
26   Tuskegee Institute 30 L  
42   Bullock County W  
 Valley 24 L  
35   Jordan GA W  
17   Wetumpka W  
40   Handley W  
42   Russell County W  
19   Eufaula 10 W  
12   Andalusia W  1st Rd
26   Jackson 19 W OT  2nd Rd
14   Greenville W  3rd Rd
28   Dora W  Semi
14   Oxford 21 L  Finals
37712-3-0 151
Region Record  2-1
Game Summary
0 7 7 7 -- 21
Smiths Station
0 0 14 0 -- 14
 Scoring Summaries: 
Oxford: Revy Higgins 28 yard pass from Jason Jack (Jeremy Sewell PAT)
Smiths: Jeffery Lamar 63 yard run (Wesley Byrd PAT)
Oxford: Jeremy Sewell 51 yard pass from Jason Jack (Jeremy Sewell PAT)
Smiths: Jason Hopper 2 yard run (Wesley Byrd PAT)
Oxford: Revy Higgins 21 yard pass from Jason Jack (Jeremy Sewell PAT) 8:52
  Oxford Smiths
First Downs14 10
Rush/Yards193 192
Pass/Yards155 49
Pass att/com/int17-8-0 9-5-1
Total Yards348 241
Fumbles/Lost3 0
Punt/Avg.3-29.0 5-35.0
Penalties20 40
Time of Poss.
Game MVP:
Records: Oxford (14-0); Smiths Station (12-3)
Coaches: E.L. "Goose" Godwin, Smiths Station and Robert Herring, Oxford
Game: Played Friday December 2, 1988 at Panther Stadium, Smiths Station
               Jason Jack threw three touchdown passes to lead the Oxford Yellow Jackets to a 21-14 victory over Smiths Station as they laid claim to their first ever state championship. Oxford had made eleven playoff appearances but had never won a title. Meanwhile Smiths Station entered the season having won only one previous playoff game in ten appearances.
               Jack's last touchdown came with 8:52 remaining and would prove to be the game winner. He would finish the game completing 8 of 17 passes for 155 yards. Smiths Station drove into position to tie the game but a holding penalty nullified a touchdown and Oxford was able to run out the clock.
Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Marion County defeated Meek 83-6 in a playoff game in 2012. It is the most points scored by a team in a playoff game.