News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email

Search Site

Oxford Basketball Yearly Summary

Oxford Yellow Jackets
Oxford High School

 Oxford, AL 36203
Colors: Black & Old Gold

 Season   Games   Class   Area   Championship   Record   Coach 
2021-226A13-   Joel Van Meter
2020-216A13Area Champs-   Joel Van Meter
2019-206A13Area Champs-   Joel Van Meter
2018-196A13Area Champs-   Joel Van Meter
2017-186A13Area Champs & Elite 8-   Joel Van Meter
2016-176A13Area Champs & Elite 823-11   Joel Van Meter
2015-166A1018-13   Joel Van Meter
2014-156A108-18   Joel Van Meter
2012-136A923-8   Joel Van Meter
2011-126A1415-11   Joel Van Meter
2010-116A1413-13   Joel Van Meter
2009-106A1319-12   James Slaton
2008-096A1319-14   James Slaton
2007-086A148-18   James Slaton
2006-076A147-14   Darrell Cline
2004-055A813-12   Larry Davidson
2003-045A618-9   Larry Davidson
2002-035A610-12   Larry Davidson
2001-025A1217-8   Larry Davidson
2000-015A1210-16   Larry Davidson
1999-006A10Area Champs12-13   Larry Davidson
1998-996A109-14   Larry Davidson
1997-986A12Area Champs & Elite 819-3   Larry Davidson
1996-976A12Area Champs & Elite 821-6   Larry Davidson
1995-965A11Area Champs21-4   Larry Davidson
1994-955A1115-12   Larry Davidson
1993-945A1123-6   Larry Davidson
1992-935A11Area Champs18-11   Larry Davidson
1991-925A1117-8   Larry Davidson
1990-915A1115-5   Larry Davidson
1989-905A11Area Champs21-6   Larry Davidson
1988-895A1122-6   Larry Davidson
1987-885A1213-11   Larry Davidson
1986-875A1216-10   Larry Davidson
1985-865A1216-10   Larry Davidson
1984-855A1211-10   Larry Davidson
1983-843A1120-8   Larry Davidson
1982-833A1118-8   Larry Davidson
1981-823A1110-14   Larry Davidson
1980-813A1114-10   Larry Davidson
1979-804A1014-15   Ronnie Burleson
1978-794A1010-18   Ronnie Burleson
1977-783A11-   Ronnie Burleson
1976-773A11Area Champs-   Larry Windsor
1975-763A11-   Larry Windsor
1974-753A11-   Larry Windsor
1973-743A11Area Champs19-7   Larry Windsor
1972-733A1118-8   Larry Windsor
1971-723A1111-13   Larry Windsor
1970-714A710-12   Larry Windsor
1969-704A74-20   Louis Higgins
1968-694A78-15   Gene Bussey
1967-684A612-11   Gene Bussey
1966-674A617-11   Gene Bussey
1965-664A613-16   Ralph Baxter
1964-654A67-21   Ralph Baxter
1963-644A615-16   Ralph Baxter

 1923-1963 District Format
 Season   Games   Class   Area   Championship   Record   Coach 
1962-63AA620-8   Jay Dye
1961-62AA6District Champs & Elite 829-4   Jay Dye
1960-61AA616-8   Jay Dye
1959-60AA623-5   Gilbert Adams
1958-59AA66-10   Gilbert Adams
1957-58AA67-9   Gilbert Adams
1956-57AA613-9   Gilbert Adams
1955-56AA617-7   Gilbert Adams
1954-55AA6District Champs & Elite 823-2   Gilbert Adams
1953-54AA612-8   Gilbert Adams
1952-53AA612-7   Gilbert Adams
1951-52AA6District Champs22-3   Gilbert Adams
1950-51AA6District Champs & Elite 824-4   Gilbert Adams
1949-50AA617-4   Gilbert Adams
1948-49AA6Elite 822-7   Gilbert Adams
1947-48AA616-6   Gilbert Adams
1946-47A616-7   Lee Miles
1945-46A6-   W.R. McKinsey
1944-45A6District Champs & Elite 815-2   Sammy West
1943-44A610-4   Sammy West
1942-43A6District Champs18-4   Frisco Burnham
1941-42A619-6   Frisco Burnham
1940-41A613-8   Ed Lockhart
1939-40A612-8   Ed Lockhart
1938-39A6Elite 818-8   Newt Godfree
1937-38A613-7   Newt Godfree
1936-37A6District Champs & Elite 820-6   Newt Godfree
1935-36A6-   Ray Tucker
1934-35A6District Champs & Final Four25-2   Ox Clark
1933-34A6Elite 821-3   Ox Clark
1932-33A6District Champs & Final Four24-2   Ox Clark
1931-3214-3   Ox Clark
1930-3115-5   Ox Clark
1927-28-   Morris Beck
1926-27-   Morris Beck
1924-25-   Robert Megis
1921-22-   Britton Russell
1918-190-   S.B. Gibson

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Basketball History

The fewest points scored in a tournament game is five by Mortimer Jordan in their 17-5 loss to Goodwater in the first round of 1932.