News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email

Search Site

Basketball Tournament Most Valuable Player

The Most Valuable Player is selected following the Championship Tournament. It is announced in conjunction with the All-Tournament Team.

 Class   Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
1A  Deion Vurry  Pickens County
2A  Matt Hines  Tanner
3A  Jimmie Taylor  Greensboro
4A  Trevor Lacey  Butler
5A  Jeremy Bogus  Wenonah
6A  Reginald Spencer  Hillcrest Tuscaloosa
1A  Damien Carr  Edward Bell
2A  Deion Curry  Pickens County
3A  Neiko Hunter  Greene County
4A  Ralph Floyd  Ramsay
5A  Josh Langford  Lee Huntsville
6A  Levi Randolph  Bob Jones
1A  Willie Nettles  J.F. Shields
2A  Frankie Sullivan  R.C. Hatch
3A  Kerron Johnson  Madison Academy
4A  Ryan Cross  Madison County
5A  Darryl Blackmon  Williamson
6A  Joshua Wesley  LeFlore
1A  JaMychal Green  St. Jude
2A  Calvin Pope  R.C. Hatch
3A  Tyler Hanback  Madison Academy
4A  Chris Hines  Hillcrest Evergreen
5A  Tauras Dortch  Ramsay
6A  Courtney Fortson  Jeff Davis
1A  Reprobatus Bibbs  Courtland Jr.
2A  Mindaugas Statkus  Catholic Montgomery
3A  Tavares Childs  Francis Marion
4A  Justin Tuck  Central Coosa
5A  Gabriel Kennedy  Wilcox Central
6A  Karlos Dansby  Woodlawn
5A  Brian Williams  Jeff Davis
6A  Donald Winn  Buckhorn
3A  Dexter King  R.C. Hatch
5A  Jay Knowlton  Hartselle
6A  Julius Robinson  Selma
1A  George Ewell  Notasulga
2A  Lance Weems  Clay County
3A  Darryl Wilson  South Lamar
4A  Brian McGuire  Alexandria
5A  Jason Ivey  Emma Sansom
6A  Wafe Kaiser  Vestavia Hills
1A  Victor Newman  Houston Academy
2A  Lance Weems  Clay County
3A  Alonzo Johnson  Francis Marion
4A  Franklin Davidson  Buckhorn
5A  Alfred Rumph  Tuskegee Institute
6A  Hassan Sanders  Central Tuscaloosa
1A  Walter Pitts  Loachapoka
3A  Dewayne Eselton  East Limestone
4A  Carlos Martin  Wenonah
5A  Claude Coleman  Williamson
6A  Shon Peck Love  Central Tuscaloosa
2A  Willie Shears  Francis Marion
4A  Rodney Barganier  Clarke County
5A  Joe Cox  Bibb County
6A  Antonio Lang  LeFlore
1A  Walter Pitts  Loachapoka
5A  Steve Morris  Sylacauga
5A  Roosevelt Powell  Hayes
6A  William Neloms  Auburn
4A  Jessie Harris  LaFayette
5A  Rodney Steavens  Southside Selma
6A  John Mitchell  LeFlore
1A  Anthony Reed  Calhoun
2A  Kenny Pollard  Millport
3A  Charlie Norfleet  R.C. Hatch
4A  Marvin Duke  Wilcox County
5A  Rodney Steavens  Southside Selma
6A  Clifford Griffin  Tuskegee Institute
1A  Frank Sillmon  Talladega County Central
2A  Bobby Joe Jackson  Headland
4A  Andre Bruce  Carver Montgomery
1A  Ricky Ogletree  Loachapoka
2A  Larry Brooks  Russell County
3A  Craig Dudley  Gadsden
4A  Greg Payne  Carver Montgomery
1A  James Grubbs  Clayton
2A  Darren Golson  Autaugaville
3A  Luther Tiggs  Russellville
4A  Buck Johnson  Butler
1A  Donald Reedus  Courtland
2A  Fred Thomas  New Brockton
3A  Myron Hughes  Colbert County
4A  Bobby Lee Hurt  Butler
1A  Bernard Rainey  Alabama Lutheran G5-7 Sr.
2A  Greg Vincent  Lincoln F6-4 190Sr.
3A  Lewis Jackson  Wetumpka C6-5 185
4A  Greg Jarmon  Coffee F6-4 210Sr.
1A  Stanford Banks  Rebecca Comer F6-3 165Sr.
2A  Freddie Benford  East Limestone F6-2 185Sr.
3A  Lewis Jackson  Wetumpka C6-4 Jr.
4A  Bobby Lee Hurt  Butler 6-8 218So.
1A  Eugene Ward  Westside Marion
2A  Marvin Hunter  R.C. Hatch
3A  Taylor Hart  Eufaula
4A  Eddie Phillips  Parker
1A  Earl Banks  Holy Family
2A  Frederick White  St. Jude
3A  Dennis Crutcher  Sparkman
4A  Rory Campbell  Hayes
1A  Cody Sweetland  Athens Bible
2A  Mike Grissom  Colbert Heights
3A  Kent Looney  Guntersville
4A  Otis Boddie  Bradshaw
1A  Paul Naves  East Perry
2A  Kenneth Lloyd  Colbert Heights
3A  Kent Looney  Guntersville
4A  Richard Ford  Parker
1A  Paul Naves  East Perry G6-3 Jr.
2A  Walter Stone  Madison County
3A  Anthony Murray  Glenn
4A  Wayne Bracy  Hayes
1A  Paul Naves  East Perry
2A  Charles Williams  St. Jude
3A  Anthony Murray  Glenn
4A  Gary Winton  Brewer
1A  Richard Gortney  Bibb Graves
2A  John Drew  J.F. Shields
3A  Leon Douglas  Colbert County
4A  T.R. Dunn  West End
1A  William Rothschild  Wilcox County Training
2A  Ronnie Joe Barnes  Abbeville
3A  Charlie Russell  Hartselle
4A  Allen Murphy  Parker
1A  Richard Gortney  Bibb Graves
2A  Will Moore  U.S. Jones
3A  Charles Cleveland  Bibb County
4A  Allen Murphy  Parker
1A  Dennard Burney  R.R. Moton Tallassee
2A  Merle Pruitt  Section
3A  Charles Lee Martin  Austin
4A  Raymond Odum  Carver Birmingham
1A  Donald Jones  Dallas County
2A  Tim Sumblin  Kinston
3A  Lester Bryant  B.B. Comer
4A  Porter Moore  Lee Huntsville
1A  Wendell Lawson  Sand Rock
2A  Wayne Wilson  Curry
3A  Gary Franks  Fayette County
4A  Ken Hogue  Tuscaloosa
1A  David Robinson  Ranburne
2A  Johnny Bachus  Lineville
3A  Billy Alexander  Cherokee
4A  Randy Hollingsworth  Butler
1A  Garland Franks  D.A.R.
2A  Kenneth Clarke  Priceville
3A  Jim Tom Clark  Eufaula
4A  Walter Holt  Emma Sansom
2A  Don Bradford  Hatton
3A  Wallace Tinker  Pisgah
4A  Greg Horn  Tuscaloosa
A  Joe Millsaps  Danville
AA  John Pickens  Tuscaloosa
A  Lynn Holladay  Danville
AA  Ashby Cook  Sidney Lanier
A  Ronald Traylor  Handley
AA  Harry Hammonds  Tuscaloosa
A  Curtis Harris  J.U. Blacksher
AA  Clark Boler  Tuscaloosa County
A  Jimmy Moebes  Austinville
AA  Lee Peake  Selma
A  Jimmy Moebes  Austinville
AA  Derrel Estes  Fayette County G5-8
A  Gary Blagburn  Austinville
AA  Pat Trammell  Scottsboro
A  Tommie Smith  West Limestone F5-11
AA  Ronald Cochran  Murphy
A  Rex Frederick  Corner
AA  Windell Nix  Scottsboro
A  Rex Fredrick  Corner
AA  Bill McGriff  Pisgah
A  Billy Woodall  Austinville C
AA  Joe Mathis  Eufaula C
A  Charles Livingston  Priceville
AA  Jim Cummings  Coffee C
A  Clifford Watkins  Hurtsboro
AA  Jim Cummings  Coffee Jr.
A  James Bolling  Union Hill
AA  Jack Turner  Ensley
A  Robert Thrower  Princeton
AA  James Fulmer  Coffee
A  Tommie Langston  Corner
AA  Excell Hester  Etowah
A  Fred Thomas  Scottsboro
A  Jack Brown  Selma
A  Rebel Steiner  Ensley G
A  Wallace Thompson  Lexington F
A  J.W. Floyd  Scottsboro F

Great Moments in Alabama High School Basketball History

The only forfeit in tournament play was in 1999 when Courtland forfeited their win over Madison Academy in the Class 1A finals.