News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email

Search Site

ASWA Basketball Player of the Year

The Alabama Sports Writers Association selects a Basketball Player of the Year in conjunction with the announcement of the All-State Team.

 Class   Player   Team   Position   Ht.   Wt.   Class   College 
1A  Ricky Ogletree  Loachapoka
2A  Larry Brooks  Russell County
3A  Otis Adams  Gadsden
4A  Terry Conor  Phillips Birmingham
1A  Frank Sillmon  Talladega County Central
2A  Roy Fletcher  East Limestone
3A  Jeff Moore  Midfield
4A  Mike Jones  Central Phenix City
1A  Eddie Perryman  Calhoun
2A  Vincent Robinson  Bridgeport
3A  Charlie Norfleet  R.C. Hatch
4A  Marvin Duke  Wilcox County
5A  Brian Bender  Midfield
6A  Jeff Hodge  Woodlawn
1A  Anthony Reed  Calhoun
2A  Darrin Liles  Hazlewood
3A  Greg Yarbrough  Tanner
4A  Larry Rembert  Keith UAB
5A  Rodney Stevens  Southside Selma
6A  John Mitchell  LeFlore
1A  Deon Harris  Alabama School Deaf
2A  Darin Liles  Hazlewood
3A  Mike Morris  Holly Pond
4A  Marcus Campbell  Sumter County
5A  Marvin Johnson  Jackson-Olin
6A  Bryant Lancaster  Valley
1A  Matt Wright  Mars Hill
2A  Billy Rose  Clay County
3A  Michael Todd  LaFayette
4A  Stanley Rose  Leeds
5A  Terrence Lewis  Ramsay
6A  Jay Scherer  Grissom
1A  Walter Pitts  Loachapoka
2A  Billy Ross  Clay County
3A  Michael Todd  LaFayette
4A  Michael Frazier  Clarke County
5A  Dewitt Mathews  Andalusia
6A  Queintoria Higgins  Fairhope
1A  Walter Pitts  Loachapoka
2A  Willie Shears  Francis Marion
3A  Greg Edmonds  D.A.R.
4A  Cameron Boozer  Lanett
5A  Cedric Moore  Woodlawn
6A  Antonio Lang  LeFlore
1A  Victor Newman  Houston Academy
2A  Lance Weems  Clay County
3A  Alonzo Johnson  Francis Marion
4A  Willie Jones  Headland
5A  Alfred Rumph  Tuskegee Institute
6A  Hasson Sanders  Central Tuscaloosa Sr.
1A  George Ewell  Notasulga
2A  Lance Weems  Clay County
3A  Darryl Wilson  South Lamar
4A  Greg Grimsley  Abbeville
5A  Jason Ivey  Emma Sansom
6A  Wade Kaiser  Vestavia Hills
1A  Daniel Kauffman  Westminster
2A  Derrick Jackson  Warrior
3A  John Oliver  Francis Marion
4A  Greg Grimsley  Abbeville
5A  Arnell Hamilton  Jackson
6A  Howard Pride  Butler UAB/Vandy
1A  Richard Mason  Beatrice
2A  Richard Mason  J.F. Shields
3A  Bart Hyche  Winfield
4A  Cedric Dixon  Dallas County
5A  Jay Knowlto  Hartselle
6A  Rod Willie  Lee Huntsville Georgia Southern
1A  Terry Haynes  Calera
2A  Adrian Person  Brantley
3A  Bart Hyche  Winfield
4A  Adalius Thomas  Central Coosa
5A  Donald Wynn  Buckhorn
6A  Brian Williams  Jeff Davis
AISA  Allen Chasteen  Southern Academy
1A  Anthony Williams  Loachapoka
2A  Antrone Rogers  Goshen
3A  Edward Ezell  Holtville
4A  Chris Porter  Abbeville
5A  Jeremy Hayes  Boaz
6A  Isaac Spencer  Jeff Davis
1A  Anthony Williams  Loachapoka Vanderbilt
3A  Rongie Cowser  Litchfield
4A  Todd Ginn  Alexandria
5A  Alex Beason  Albertville
6A  Myron Ransom  West End
6A  Marvin Stone  Grissom Kentucky/Louisville
1A  Keinodrick Sims  St. Jude
2A  Ryan Wilson  Calera
3A  Sam Haginas  UMS-Wright
4A  Jazmin Mitchell  Sumter County
5A  Robert Williams  Coffee
6A  Marvin Stone  Grissom
AISA  Ben Campbell  Fort Dale Academy
1A  Jeremy Monceaux  Parkway Christian
2A  Josh Bryant  Hatton
3A  Erwin Dudley  R.C. Hatch Alabama
4A  Hugh Taylor  Central Hayneville
5A  Corey Hughes  Coffee
AISA  Rod Grizzard  Central Park Christian Alabama
1A  Jeremy Monceaux  Parkway Christian
2A  Earl Bullock  Lineville
3A  Tavares Childs  Francis Marion
4A  Gerald Wallace  Childersburg
5A  Kareem Johnson  Eufaula
6A  Rod Flowers  Butler
AISA  Roderick Aikens  Marion Military Institute
1A  Reprobatus Bibbs  Courtland Sr.
2A  Ousmane Cisse  St. Jude
3A  Brian Holcombe  Washington County
4A  Ryan Powell  Clarke County
5A  Chadd Moore  Lee Huntsville
6A  Chris White  Grissom
AISA  Dalton Ard  Kingwood Christian
1A  Jeremy Monceaux  Parkway Christian
2A  Corey Bryant  Geraldine
3A  Lance Hamilton  Washington County
4A  Justin Jones  Douglas
5A  Kennedy Winston  Blount
6A  James Poindexter  John Carroll
AISA  Allen Ponder  Lee-Scott Academy
1A  Jonathan Haynes  Section
2A  Leonard Scott  Calhoun
3A  George Drake  Calera
4A  Justin Jonus  Douglas
5A  Michael Williams  Wilcox Central
6A  Ronald Steele  John Carroll Alabama
AISA  Brett Paulk  Fort Dale Academy
1A  Wesley Jones  J.F. Shields
2A  George Drake  Calera
3A  Reaynundo Sturdivant  Sumter County
4A  Corey Speight  Livingston
5A  Michael Williams  Wilcox Central
6A  Ronald Steele  John Carroll
AISA  Brett Paulk  Fort Dale Academy
1A  Michael Ricks  R.A. Hubbard
2A  George Drake  Calera
3A  Joey Cameron  Leeds
4A  Jeremy Harris  Saks
5A  Richard Hendrix  Athens Alabama
6A  Brandon Hollinger  LeFlore
AISA  Zack Thomas  Escambia Academy
1A  JaMychal Green  St. Jude Alabama
2A  Frankie Sullivan  R.C. Hatch
3A  Larry Foster  Sumter County
4A  Chris Hines  Hillcrest Tuscaloosa
5A  Tauras Dortch  Ramsay
6A  Stanley Robinson  Huffman Connecticut
AISA  Jovaris Smith  Marion Military Institute
1A  JaMychal Green  St. Jude Alabama
2A  Frankie Sullivan  R.C. Hatch
3A  Mick Hedgepeth  Crossville
4A  Justin Knox  Central Tuscaloosa
5A  Rico Pickett  Decatur
6A  Courtney Fortson  Jeff Davis Arkansas
AISA  Will Coleman  Glenwood School
1A  JaMychal Green  St. Jude Alabama
2A  Frankie Sullivan  R.C. Hatch
3A  Kerron Johnson  Madison Academy
4A  Courtney Mack  Bullock County
5A  Andrew Steele  John Carroll Alabama
6A  Nick Williams  LeFlore
AISA  Jarvis Rooks  Bessemer Academy
1A  Tommy White Jr.  Loachapoka
2A  Devondrick Richardson  Barbour County
3A  Kerron Johnson  Madison Academy Belmony
4A  Nico Johnson  Andalusia
5A  Eric Bledsoe  Parker
6A  Jordan Swing  Vestavia Hills
AISA  Tevin Moore  Tuscaloosa Academy
1A  Damien Carr  Edward Bell
2A  Jake Mitchell  Mars Hill
3A  Neikro Hunter  Greene County
4A  K.T. Harrell  Brewbaker Tech
5A  Trevor Lacey  Butler
6A  Levi Randolph  Bob Jones
AISA  J.V. McKinney  Cornerstone Christian
1A  Deion Curry  Pickens County
2A  Matthew Hines  Tanner
3A  Kevin May  Sumter County
4A  Trevor Lacey  Butler
5A  Ricky Tarrant  Pleasant Grove
6A  Levi Randolph  Bob Jones
AISA  Jacob Acker  Pickens Academy
1A  DeAngelo Hardy  Cedar Bluff
2A  Takwain Whigham  Barbour County
3A  Josh Langford  Madison Academy
4A  Justin Pride  Butler
5A  Derunnya Wilson  Wenonah
6A  Craig Sword  Carver Montgomery
1A  Wesley Person Jr.  Brantley G Jr.
2A  Alex Thompson  Houston Academy G Sr.
3A  Joshua Langford  Madison Academy F Sr.
4A  William Lee  Dallas County C Jr.
5A  DeRunnya Wilson  Wenonah F Sr.
6A  Lewis Sullivan  Hazel Green F Jr.
1A  Wesley Person, Jr.  Brantley
2A  Cobe Goosby  Elba
3A  Joshua Langford  Madison Academy
4A  William Lee  Dallas County
5A  Justin Coleman  Wenonah
6A  Lewis Sullivan  Hazel Green
1A  Walter Jones Jr.  Sunshine
2A  Donta Hall  Luverne
3A  Joshua Langford  Madison Academy
4A  Jaylen McCoy  St. James
5A  John Petty  J.O. Johnson
6A  Lawson Schaffer  Cullman
7A  Dazon Ingram  Theodore
AISA  Malik Pettus  East Memorial Christian

Great Moments in Alabama High School Basketball History

The first tournament held in Tuscaloosa was in 1927.