News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email


Search Site

Alabama Sports Writers Association's Coach of the Year

The Alabama Sports Writers Association has selected a Softball Coach of the Year in conjunction with the announcement of the All-State Team for each classification since 2003.

 Class   Coach   Team 
1A/2A  Billy Duncan  Pisgah
3A/4A  Wayne Harris  Demopolis
5A  Shane Alexander  Hartselle
6A  Tony Scarbrough  Baker
AISA  Brian Pittman  Edgewood Academy
1A  Wendy Herndon  American Christian
2A  Billy Duncan  Pisgah
3A  Denise Ainsworth  Alabama Christian
4A  Laura McFall-Webb  Wilson
5A  Russ Tate  Buckhorn
6A  Jim Brown  Hoover
1A  Michael Stamps  Waterloo
2A  Jacqi Hammond  Flomaton
3A  Billy Duncan  Pisgah
4A  Karl Smeltzer  St. James
5A  Lissa Walker  Hueytown
6A  Tony Scarbrough  Baker
AISA  Ricky Butts  Mobile Christian
1A  Michael Stamps  Waterloo
2A  David Hughes  Ider
3A  Denise Ainsworth  Alabama Christian
4A  Karl Smeltzer  St. James
5A  Lissa Walker  Hueytown
6A  Dale Palmer  Sparkman
1A  Janie Wiggins  Kinston
2A  Chris Cummings  Oakman
3A  Jeff Thomas  Leeds
4A  Chris Goodman  Alabama Christian
5A  Karen Collins  Gulf Shores
6A  Tony Scarbrough  Baker
AISA  Mark Armstrong  Cornerstone Christian
1A  Toney Vining  Athens Bible
2A  David Hughes  Ider
3A  Mary Jane Hobbs  Elkmont
4A  Karl Smeltzer  St. James
5A  Laura Rickman  Mortimer Jordan
6A  Amy Sullivan  Pelham
AISA  Matt Marshall  Lowndes Academy
1A  Doyle Hensley  Speake
2A  David Hughes  Ider
3A  Keith Harris  West Morgan
4A  Tonya Young  Central Florence
5A  Marc Ponder  Cullman
6A  Dale Palmer  Sparkman
AISA  Dusty Perdue  Glenwood School
1A  Jonathan Nix  Ragland
2A  John Smith  Hatton
3A  Jessica Aderholt  Sumiton Christian
4A  Mark Thomas  Ardmore
5A  Kelly Hendrix  Athens
6A  Patricia Ball  Dothan
AISA  Todd Mathis  Marengo Academy
1A  Franklin Pritchett  Woodville
2A  Dee Hughes  Goshen
3A  Shane Sanderson  Sardis
4A  Ed Miller  Dallas County
5A  Amanda Ellis  Moody
6A  Patricia Ball  Dothan
AISA  Mark Armstrong  Cornerstone Christian
1A  Jonathan Nix  Ragland
2A  Dee Hughes/Amy Warrick  Goshen
3A  Mike Tucker  Saks
4A  Kelly Rushing  Haleyville
5A  Russell McCartey  Chelsea
6A  Dale Palmer  Sparkman
1A  Chris Harris  Parrish
2A  Brian Callaway  Mobile Christian
3A  Wayne Harris  Good Hope
4A  Laura Ledgewood  Central-Florence
5A  John Simmons  Hayden
6A  Bruce Hamilton  Austin
AISA  Danny Stenz  Marengo Academy
1A  Cindy Hawthorne  Brantley
2A  Lori Wyatt  Hale County
3A  Zach Nix  Winfield
4A  Brian Hess  Alexandria
5A  Christy Ferguson  Hartselle
6A  Brenda Box  Mary Montgomery
1A  Mike Ratliff  Isabella
2A  David Hughes  Ider
3A  Lori Wyatt  Hale County
4A  Philip Smith  Curry
5A  Chris Williams  Springville
6A  Randy Belyeu  Wetumpka
7A  Tony Scarbrough  Baker
AISA  Matt Marshall  Lowndes Academy
1A  J.T. Lawrence  Billingsley
3A  Nicole Dutton  Dale County
4A  Anthony Norris  LAMP
5A  Heidi Kouveras  Helena
6A  Heather Lee  Chelsea
7A  Dale Palmer  Sparkman
AISA  Greg Lewis  Patrician Academy
1A  Jessica Gibson  Pleasant Home
2A  Nikki Long  G.W. Long
3A  Greg Kosloff  Gordo
4A  Tommy Honeycutt  Northside
5A  Robyn Johnson  Scottsboro
6A  Mike Benson  Hazel Green
7A  Alvin Rauls  Buckhorn
AISA  Jeremy DeLoach  Autauga Academy
1A  Tony Echols  Sweet Water
2A  Kelli Hilyer  Reeltown
3A  Randy Stough  Prattville Christian
4A  Drew Hall  Cherokee County
5A  Becky Seymour  Moody
6A  Christy Ferguson  Hartselle
7A  Matt Stonbraker  Smiths Station
AISA  Billy Hamilton  Clarke Prep
1A  Matt Burgess  Mars Hill
2A  James Coker  Collinsville
3A  Nathan Rainey  Wicksburg
4A  Haley Stutts  Rogers
5A  Jeri Beck  John Carroll
6A  Anthony Cox  Baldwin County
7A  Taylor Burt  Hewitt-Trussville
AISA  Mark Segrest  Edgewood Academy
1A  Slade Bellomy  Skyline
2A  Shane Alexander  Orange Beach
3A  Stan Pepper  Beulah
4A  Kevin Thompson  North Jackson
5A  BJ Darawich  Satsuma
6A  Shawn Maze  Mortimer Jordan
7A  Taylor Burt  Hewitt-Trussville
AISA  Mitchell Turberville  Monroe Academy
1A  Jeff Laubenthal  Holy Spirit
2A  Holly Matson  Thorsby
3A  Sharon Cherry  Houston Academy
4A  Ashley Bell  Geneva
5A  Jill Dowd  Hayden
6A  Travis Barnes  Athens
7A  Kevin Todd  Thompson
AISA  Caleb Anderson  Patrician Academy
Great Moments in Alabama High School Sports History

The only forfeit in tournament play was in 1999 when Courtland forfeited their win over Madison Academy in the Class 1A finals.