News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email


Search Site

Alabama Sports Writers Association's Softball Player of the Year

The Alabama Sports Writers Association selects a Softball Player of the Year in conjunction with the announcement of the All-State Team for each classification since 2003 except for 2009 and 2010 when they selected an MVP player.

 Class   Player   Team   Position   Class   College 
1A/2A  Holly Currie  Pisgah
3A/4A  Mandy Burford  Saks
5A  Beth Lawson  Hazel Green
6A  Tara Donaldson  Baker
AISA  Brittany Hodge  Edgewood Academy
1A  Emily White  Ragland
2A  Serena Whitaker  Pisgah
3A  Paige Kennedy  Alabama Christian
4A  Amy Brown  Alexandria
5A  Danielle Wallace  Buckhorn
6A  Anna Thompson  Grissom
1A  Andrea Palmer  Waterloo
2A  Cassie Lassiter  Flomaton
3A  Kristy Roberts  Danville
4A  Allie Barker  Alexandria
5A  Danielle Wallace  Buckhorn
6A  Tara Donaldson  Baker
AISA  Maddie Callaway  Mobile Christian
1A  Andrea Palmer  Waterloo
2A  Hilary Phillips  Ider
3A  Holly Ragsdale  Dadeville
4A  Jenny Stephens  Jackson
5A  Shanon Young  Hueytown
6A  Anna Thompson  Grissom
1A  Kaliegh Sanders  Kinston
2A  Marcy Sartain  Oakman
3A  Shea Driggers  Leeds
4A  Sallie Beth Burch  Lawrence County
5A  Kayla Orr  Hartselle
6A  Whitney Larsen  Vestavia Hills
AISA  Saige Wright  Tuscaloosa Academy
1A  Andrea Bean  Ragland
2A  Hilary Phillips  Ider
3A  Shelby Holley  Pisgah
4A  Robyn Harmon  St. James
5A  Haley Hopkins  Gulf Shores
6A  Lindsey Dunlap  Hueytown
AISA  Olivia Gibson  Tuscaloosa Academy
1A  Emily Church  Ragland
2A  Hillary Carpenter  Hatton
3A  Shelby Holley  Pisgah
4A  Cassie Daniels  Dallas County
5A  Blair Johnson  Mortimer Jordan
6A  Marcy Harper  Hoover
AISA  Ollivia McLemore  Glenwood School
1A  Sommar Wright  Ragland P Sr.
2A  Hillary Carpenter  Hatton P Jr.
3A  Taylor West  Saks P Jr.
4A  Tori Davis  Cherokee County P Jr.
5A  Haylie McCleney  Mortimer Jordan OF Sr.
6A  Kasey Cooper  Dothan UTL Jr.
1A  Peyton Barthel  Decatur Heritage
2A  Hillary Carpenter  Hatton
3A  Cara Goodwin  Good Hope
4A  Tori Davis  Cherokee County
5A  Emily Glover  Scottsboro
6A  Kasey Cooper  Dothan
AISA  Paige Hill  Lowndes
1A  Jenna Ergle  Sumiton Christian
2A  Savanna Holmes  Hale County
3A  Madi Moore  Winfield
4A  Holly Ward  Haleyville
5A  Jada Hayes  Hartselle
6A  Jordan Bullock  Sparkman
1A  Alex Wilcox  Brantley
2A  Kendall Beth Sides  Sumiton Christian
3A  Harley Stokes  Hale County
4A  Ashlee Swindle  Curry
5A  Lauren Rase  Rehobeth
6A  Claire Jenkins  Cullman
7A  Mary Katherine Tedder  Spain Park
AISA  Paxton Searle  Macon-East Academy
1A  Jenna Ergle  Sumiton Christian DH
2A  Josie Page  Washington County UTL
3A  Amy Woodham  Slocomb P
4A  Annie Willis  Westminster Christian P
5A  Abbey Latham  Demopolis C
6A  McKenzie Newcomb  Hazel Green P
7A  Mary Katherine Tedder  Spain Park SS
AISA  McKenna Gillespie  Glenwood School P
1A  Leanna Johnson  Brantley 9
2A  Olivia Baker  G.W. Long UTL
3A  Anna Kate Segars  East Lawrence OF
4A  Johnna Staggs  Wilson 1B
5A  Abby Swaney  Springville P
6A  Kylie Winton  Hartselle DH
7A  Samantha Yarbrough  Fairhope UTL
AISA  Taylor McKinney  Macon-East Academy DH
1A  Kassidy Wilcox  Brantley C
2A  Libby Baker  G.W. Long UT
3A  Kaylee Vaught  Pisgah OF
4A  Haley Pittman  Alabama Christian P
5A  Savannah Woodard  Hayden INF
6A  Carlee McCondichie  Gardendale INF
7A  Hannah Borden  Hewitt-Trussville DH
AISA  Madisyn Kennedy  Macon-East Academy INF
Great Moments in Alabama High School Sports History

South Lamar scored 113 points in defeating East Limestone 113-84 in the first round of the 1992 tournament. It is still a record for points scored in a game.