News strives to provide the most accurate information possible. If you can assist in completing missing information, join us in the forums or email


Search Site

Alabama High School Coaches


  Below is a list of some of the greatest coaches for each sport in the history of high school sports in Alabama. The list includes coaches which have distinguished careers.

By Sport

All Sports
Girls Basketball
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer

 Coach  Teams  Years 
Jason Anderson Shoals Christian, Westminster Christian2002-2022

Larry Andrews Baker1968-2002

Nolan Atkins Sweet Water, Thomasville, Sumter Academy, Patriciam Academy1966-1997

Josh Bates Sand Rock, Gaylesville2001-2023

Ronnie Baynes Banks, Selma, Alabama School Deaf, Tallassee, Mountain Brook, Cornerstone1968-2016

Stokely Bazemore Wetumpka1970-1999

Tim Becker McGill-Toolen, St. Lukes, UMS-Wright1996-2022

William Booth Hartselle1987-2024

Wayne Bowling Danville1963-2000

Richy Brooks Benjamin Russell, Tarrant1989-2024

Dan Camp Glenwood School1974-1984

Bobby Carr Edgewood Academy2000-2016

Dusty Carter Paint Rock Valley, Scottsboro1936-1975

Michael Cassady Opp2009-2022

Matt Cimo Auburn1993-2022

Rick Davis 1989-2014

Van Deerman Locust Fork, Jacksonville1959-1984

Sammy Dunn Vestavia Hills1977-2004

Phil English Huffman, Hewitt-Trussville1971-1993

Mike Estes Hokes Bluff1974-2008

Joseph Evans Keith1970-1987

Tim Fanning Glenwood School2003-2016

Moses Finch Sumter County, West End York1955-1984

Larry Foster Etowah1979-2019

Stuart Fuller Fairhope, Faith Academy, Baldwin County1988-2022

Larry Ginn Alexandria1973-2007

Mike Good Madison Academy2002-2016

Chris Goodman Alabama Christian1985-2021

Larry Greene Austin, Tanner1983-2022

Pat Hamrick West Blocton, Thompson1993-2021

Glen Hicks North Sand Mountain, Fort Payne1976-2020

Darrell Hobson Bibb County, Clarke Prep1989-2018

Billy Howard B.C. Rain1974-1997

Estes Hudson Brilliant, Marion County and Perry County1940-1964

Nelson Hughes Sumter County Training, Livingston1959-1987

Derek Irons Oak Mountain, Charles Henderson, Paul Bryant2006-2022

Woodie Jackson Westside Marion, East Perry, Francis Marion, Selma1975-2017

Jerry Kelsoe Central Florence1970-1997

Roger Lambert Prattville, Bullock Memorial, St. James1973-2006

Tommy Lewis Gaylesville, Spring Garden, Cherokee County, Piedmont1985-2018

Bubba Lewis Holtville, T. R. Miller, Jeff Davis1968-1990

Dan Lewis A.L. Martin, Carver Montgomery, St. Jude1968-2005

Joe Lloyd Midfield, Pleasant Grove1981-2007

Eugene Mason R.C. Hatch1968-2005

Jim McCain Wicksburg, Cottonwood1974-1988

Earl Miller Houston County, G.W. Long1978-2005

Mark Mincher Sparkman, Huntsville1983-2012

Mike Mitchell Mars Hill1982-2000

Joe Mooty Montgomery Academy1968-1990

Adam Moseley Hoover, Grissom2006-2022

Tyrus Moss Parker2000-2024

William Murrell Athens Bible1971-2024

Ron Nelson Central Phenix City1983-2006

Randy Nolen Dadeville, Geneva County1984-2022

Jonathan Pate Gordo1999-2022

Johnny Patrick Sumter County1971-2004

Richard Patterson Jones Valley, Fairfield, Pelham, Hueytown1980-2020

Brent Patterson Cullman2008-2022

Creigh Purnell Kinston1953-1976

Kevin Raley G.W. Long, Robertsdale, UMS-Wright1988-2022

Tony Rasmus Russell County, Florence2000-2021

Alvin Rauls Buckhorn, Bob Jones, Butler, New Hope1989-2023

Walker Reynolds Demopolis Academy, West Alabama Prep1996-2005

Andy Robbins Mobile Christian, St. Pauls1985-2022

Richard Robertson Woodson, Andalusia1968-2015

Tony Scarbrough Alba, Baker1983-2022

Andy Shaw Alexandria1991-2022

Larry Sinyard Lauderdale County1979-1999

Lloyd Skoda Faith Academy, Daphne1973-2013

Bill Sparks Phillips Birmingham, Midfield, Ensley

Mike Szymanski Satsuma, St. Lukes1988-2022

Gene Taylor Weaver, Lineville, Ohatchee, Cherokee County, Walter Wellborn1984-2005

Tommy Walker Homewood. Mountain Brook, Spanish Fort, Vestavia Hills, Bayside Academy1984-2018

Ray Walker Grissom1975-2000

Butch Weaver Butler, Johnson, Madison Academy, Lee Huntsville1980-2021

Jerry Weems Jacksonville, Cleburne County, Dadeville, Clay County1971-2012

Dale Welsh Spring Garden, Cherokee County1971-2000

Raymond White Louisville, Barbour County1975-2017

Ken Whittle Trinity1980-2021

Steve Williams Headland1969-1987

John Woody LaFayette1987-2011

Jerry Wright Baldwin County, McGill-Toolen1982-2007

Roger Wright Buckhorn1997-2020

Roger Wright 1997-2020

Bart Young Ranburne1993-2011

Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information or email us at

Great Moments in Alabama High School Sports History

Francis Marion defeated North Sand Mountain 112-105 in the highest scoring game ever in the tournament.