We now have 833 teams &  
183,794 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

Alabama High School Football Head Coaches

Harry Buddy Taylor

Harry "Buddy" Taylor took over the football program at Clayton High School in the fall of 1951. His 1952 team finished the season 9-1 and was named the State Champions for District 1 in Class A by the Birmingham News. He stayed with the school for five seasons before moving to W.S. Neal High School in East Brewton in 1955.

His seven teams at W.S. Neal produced a record of 48-19-2 with three squads that only lost a single game each season. In 1962 he moved to Talladega as the head football coach for another six year run.

Coach Taylors 1963 Tigers finished 10-0 and were named State Champions by several sources including the Birmingham News and Post Herald. In 1967 season Taylor retired from his head coaching duties after a splendid career on the sidelines. His overall football coaching record is 107-57-3 over seventeen seasons as a head coach.

The W.S. Neal football stadium, in East Brewton, is named in his honor.

Known Record:  107-57-3   65.2%

Back to Coaches List

 Season Total   Playoffs   Region/Area Record 
 Team   Season   Class   W/L/T   PF  PA   W/L/T   PF  PA   Region   Title  W/L/T   PF  PA 
Talladega1967 4A3-7128202
Talladega1966 4A7-3195187
Talladega1965 4A6-4175134
Talladega1964 4A2-889155
Talladega1963 4A10-022773
Talladega1962 4-6117161
 6 Years32-289319120-0000-000
W.S. Neal
W.S. Neal1961 9-1243117
W.S. Neal1960 8-1-127899
W.S. Neal1959 9-124352
W.S. Neal1958 5-4-1137104
W.S. Neal1957 7-3238173
W.S. Neal1956 6-4190180
W.S. Neal1955 5-5189232
 7 Years49-19-215189570-0000-000
Clayton1954 4-4176147
Clayton1953 7-3205146
Clayton1952 9-133991
Clayton1951 6-2-1221102
 4 Years26-10-19414860-0000-000
 17 Years107-57-3339023550-0000-000

Records reflect scores in our database. Some records may be incomplete. We have chosen to publish this information in hopes our visitors will participate in assisting us to complete every school.
Join us in the forums to submit corrections and new information.

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Morgan Academy Senators have appeared in 14 state championship games from 1984-2008, winning the title 11 times.