We now have 827 teams &  
180,575 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1959 Cedar Bluff Tigers

 1959    Cedar Bluff Tigers
 Record: 10-0-0
 Head Coach: L.D. Bruce
 The 1959 Cedar Bluff Tigers were chosen Class A State Champions by the Birmingham News from District 3.


Cedar Bluff won the 1959 Birmingham News state championship after completing a perfect 10-0 season. Under the guidance of coach L.D. Bruce, the Tigers rolled up 400 points while allowing only 18 to their opponents

Standouts on the team included Harry and Larry Tuckes along with N.A. Shaner and Boyd McHugh.

1959  Season
 Site   PF   Opponent   PA   W/L/T 
 44   Appalachian W
 27   Springville W
   Walnut Grove W
 34   Davis GA W
 68   Gaylesville W
 44   Menlo GA W
 33   Collinsville W
 47   Ragland W
 49   Gaston W
 47   Johnson Rome GA W
400 10-0-0 18

1959 Cedar Bluff All-State Players
 Harry TuckerE Sr.180 1  BN
 Larry TuckerB Sr.176 2  BN
 Harry TuckerE Sr.178 1  BPH
 L.D. BruceCoach 1  BPH
 Harry TuckerE Sr.180 1  MA

1959 Cedar Bluff All-Star Players

1959 Cedar Bluff Roster
  Charles Early  
  Larry Tucker  
  Robert Hite  
  Douglas Bedwell  
  N.A. Shaner  
  Bubby Barkley  
  Boyd McHugh  
  Charles Hart  
  Carlton Davis  
  Mack Arnold  
  Carl Gilmore  
  Paul Bradley  
  David Bedwell  
  Harold Barnes  
  Gary Black  
  Lynn Bruce  
  Dave Money  
  Jim Bouchillon  
  Jerry Hardin  
  Fulton Smith  
  Sam Miller  

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Super 6 State Championships began in 1996. Since then all title games were played at Legion Field in Birmingham until 2009.