We now have 814 teams &  
171,412 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

2017 Class 3A Coaching Changes 

     Share on Facebook         

Class 3A
New Hires:
Best Hire:
Best Job:
Toughest Job:

Region 1

Clarke County - Chris Young

Chris Young leaves Clarke County after just one season with a 4-6 record.

2017 Season - Stacy Luker

Stacy Luker arrives at Clarke after spending the last two seasons down the road at Demopolis. His two seasons produced a 17-7 record. He has won 188 games as a head coach at Washington County, Thomasville and Sweet Water in twenty-one seasons.

Coach Luker will bring a winning spirit to the Clarke County program that has not had a lot of success in recent years.

Region 2

Daleville - Josh Parrish

Josh Parrish leaves Daleville after three seasons to accept the head coaching job at Northview High. His teams finished a combined 23-11 but just 1-3 in the playoffs.

2017 Season - Rob Armstrong

Rob Armstrong takes over the helm at Daleville. He was the head football coach at Rutherford High in Panama City FL the last three years with a 6-25 record.

Straughn - Chris Wilson

Chris Wilson leaves Starughn after only two seasons. He led the team to 5-6 and 4-6 records and went 1-2 in the playoffs. He has accepted the head coaching job at Mary Montgomery.

2017 Season - John Higgins

The Covington County Board of Education named John Higgins as the new head coach for 2017 football season. Higgins has been an assistant coach for the Tigers the past two years.

His previous head coaching experience was two seasons at Dallas County in 2007 and 2008. Higgins led Dallas County to a 5-15 record during his two years.

Region 3

Beulah - Jarrod Wooten

Jarrod Wooten leaves Beulah after four seasons with a 8-32 record. His last two squads finished with identical 1-9 record.

2017 Season - Vacant

Region 6

Susan Moore - Ken Adams

Ken Adams stepped down following the 2016 football season at Susan Moore after just two years. His teams finished 6-15 and 0-1 in the playoffs.

2017 Season - Vacant

Vinemont - Matt Norris

Matt Norris leaves Vinemont after just two seasons with a 3-17 record.

2017 Season - Vacant

Region 7

New Hope - Randall Taylor

Randall Taylor resigned his position as head football coach after seven seasons leading the program. His overall record stands at 36-37 and 1-2 in the playoffs.

2017 Season - Kenny Chadwick

Kenny Chadwick is the new head football coach at New Hope. He was an assistant coach at Fort Payne. He was also the head coach at Appalachian in 2011 where his only team finished with a 6-5 record.

Brindlee Mountain - Matt Self

Matt Self stepped down after two seasons at Brindlee Mountain with a 1-19 record.

2017 Season - Keith Garner

Keith Garner will lead Brindlee Mountain on the football field in 2017. He has previously been the head coach at Arab, Crossville and J.B. Pennington.

Region 8

Colbert County - Dale Jeffreys

Dale Jeffreys retires from the sidelines after twenty seasons as a head coach. His teams won 160 games and twenty-one playoff games. His five seasons at Colbert County produced a 46-19 record while the team won ten playoff games.

He also served as the head coach at Red Bay for fifteen years where his teams went a combined 114-59.

2017 Season - Brett Mask

Brett Mask takes over the prestigious football program at Colbert County. The son of long time coach Steve Mask, he spent the past four seasons as an assistant coach at Decatur. He has also been an assistant coach at Benjamin Russell, Buckhorn and Florence.

Elkmont - Sean Holt

Sean Holt leaves Elkmont after six years with a 22-41 record. His final team in 2016 finished the season with an 0-10 record. His playoff record was 1-2.

2017 Season - Duane Wales

Duane Wales, a 1987 graduate of the school, will lead the Elkmont football team in 2017. He has also worked as the defensive coordinator at Clements and held the same position at Ardmore for five seasons.

David Parker

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

The Hazlewood Golden Bears have won 11 state titles. The most of any team in any classification since the playoffs began in 1966.