We now have 800 teams &  
163,540 games on

Search Site

AHSFHS Article Series

   The best of the best in Alabama High   
  School Football over the past 100 seasons.

1962 Cedar Bluff Tigers

1962 Cedar Bluff Tigers
 Record: 10-0
 Head Coach: L.D. Bruce
 The 1962 Cedar Bluff Tigers were chosen as Class B  State Champions by the Birmingham News.

1962  Season
 Site   PF   Opponent   PA   W/L/T 
27   Gaylesville W
20   Adairsville GA W
13   Walnut Grove W
13   Southside Gadsden W
31   Collinsville W
31   Springville W
37   Ragland 14 W
33   Gaston W
41   Plainview W
34   Gaylesville W
28010-0-0 26

1962 Cedar Bluff All-State Players
 Jim BouchillonHB Sr.185 1  ASWA
 David BedwellQB Jr. 1  ASWA
 Felton SmithE 1  ASWA
 Jim BouchillonB Sr.185 1  BN
 Jim BouchillonB Sr.185 1  BPH
 Felton SmithE HM  BPH

1962 Cedar Bluff All-Star Players

The 'B&B Express' as they were known led the 1962 Cedar Bluff Tigers to a state championship in 1962. Jim Bouchillon and David Bedwell helped the Tigers capture a second consecutive title and finished the season with a 28 game winning streak. The streak was the longest in the state at that time.

They steamrolled ten opponents by outscoring the opposition 295 to 27. Bouchillon was a two-time all-state player who accounted for 14 touchdowns as a senior. Bedwell added eleven scores of his own. Halfbacks Jimmy Dean, Larry Barkley and Wayne Black gave the Tigers a potent running attack.

End Felton Smith caught eight touchdown passes and also scored twice on running plays. On the other side end Randy Davis gathered in three touchdown passes and also scored on an end around play.

The interior linemen were considered a small but talented group led by senior tackle Gary Mobbs and 165 pound sophomore Richie Smith. The guards were 155 pound junior Hal Davis and 150 pound David Stone. Randy Davis also kicked the extra points.

The Tigers were coached by the legendary L.D. Bruce and his assistant Edd Arnold. Bruce spent his entire career at Cedar Bluff as a head coach. He served from 1946 through the 1965 season except for a year off in 1957. His record was 112-51-10 over the course of his career with the Tigers. Four of his teams would finish a season undefeated. The 1959, 1961, 1962 and 1963 teams never saw defeat. During the span from 1959-1963 the Tigers were an incredible 46-1-2. The only loss was a season opening defeat at the hands of Springville.

The Tigers would finish the 1962 season ranked second behind Notasulga in the final AP voting but would secure a title when the Birmingham News selected them as champions.

1962 Cedar Bluff Roster
  Neal Wright  
  Fred Lambert  
  John Lewis  
  Mitchell Inman  
  Joe Ragusin  
  Greg Meade  
  Bobby Dodd  
  Clifford Duncan  
  Freddy Early  
  Wayne Green  
  Luke Davis  
  Alton Stone  
  Lynn Bruce  
  Larry Barkley  
  Jimmy Dean  
  Lawrence Black  
  Gary Green  
  Garry Daniel  
  James Duncan  
  Ronnie Bishop  
  Richie Smith  
  Sonny Smith  
  Randy Davis  
  John Covington  
  Wayne Black  
  Gary Mobbs  
  Jimmy Phillips  
  Mac Arnold  
  Leonard Gifford  
  David Stone  
  David Bedwell  
  Jim Bouchillon  
  Hal Davis  

Great Moments in Alabama High School Football History

Brantley won an amazing 62 consecutive region games between 2002-2010.